The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
October 15, 2012

Sarasota Bar awards
THE SARASOTA COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION (SCBA) recently honored two of its members and a veterans organization for their service and commitment to the community and to the profession at its annual awards ceremony and installation dinner. The C.L. McKaig Award was presented to attorney Evelyn L. Moya for service to the SCBA for her efforts and commitment to improving the association’s goal of diversity in the practice of law in her roles as chair of the Diversity Committee, co-editor and editor of The Docket, as well as a consistent supporter of member programs and functions. Attorney Janella K. Leibovitz received the Distinguished Community Service Award in recognition for dedicating hundreds of hours each year to the women and children of Sarasota most in need of legal counsel, but without resources, by volunteering weekly at Legal Aid of Manasota, Inc., and The Women’s Resource Center of Sarasota. Florida Veterans for Common Sense was recognized with the Distinguished Service Award by a Layperson for its dedicated effort to establish veterans’ diversion courts throughout Florida, and its active support of the Courts Assisting Veterans program in Sarasota, Manatee, and DeSoto counties. Pictured seated from the left are Moya, Gene Jones of Veterans for Common Sense, and Leibovitz. Standing from the left are Norman Vaughan-Birch, Mark Flaherty, Mark Haskins, Florida Supreme Court Justice Peggy A. Quince, Alyssa Nohren, Derek Byrd, Charles Sniffen, and Chief Judge Andrew D. Owens, Jr.

[Revised: 04-17-2017]