The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
October 1, 2012
Holt to lead the public defenders

The annual Florida Public Defender Association awards ceremony at a recent training conference in Naples included the “presentation of the gavel” to the incoming President Julianne Holt of the 13th Judicial Circuit.

Holt took the reins from Second Circuit PD Nancy Daniels, who completed her two-year term.

In accepting the gavel, Holt briefly remarked on the “tremendous work” of Daniels and indicated her intentions to continue improving and strengthening the Florida public defender system during her term. She also presented Daniels with a wind-breaker bearing the FPDA logo.

Sixth Judicial Circuit PD Bob Dillinger becomes vice president, and PD Larry Eger from the 12th Judicial Circuit is the new secretary. Taking on a consecutive, one-year term as treasurer is PD James Purdy of the Seventh Judicial Circuit.

The five representative board members come from the staffs in the 20 circuits and give a voice to different functions in the offices. There are two assistant public defender representatives; new to this role is APD Jerry Meisner from the 12th Circuit, while APD Bill Miller from the Fifth Circuit accepts another term. A new support staff representative was introduced, Diane Yanez from the 11th Circuit. The administrator and investigator representatives remain the same, Mary Cintron from the 16th Circuit and A.L Kelly from the Fourth Circuit.

The L. Clayton Nance Award was presented to the four retiring public defenders: Dennis Roberts (Third Circuit), Skip Babb (Fifth Circuit), Marion Moorman (10th Circuit), and J.R. Russo (18th Circuit), who collectively represent 122 years of service.

The winners of the 2012 Craig Stewart Barnard Outstanding Service Award were a duo of APD’s from the 13th Judicial Circuit, Theda James and Christopher Watson.

The Holly Marie Stutz Outstanding Administrative Award winner was Joe Frasier, director of information technology for the Fourth Circuit.

Carolyn “Lali” Fulgueira of the 13th Judicial Circuit is the Investigator of the Year.

The Support Staff Employee of the Year Award was presented to Kathy Jenkins of the 19th Judicial Circuit.

[Revised: 02-24-2017]