The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
January 1, 2014
Board race set for the Fourth, 23 elected without opposition

Twenty-three members of the Bar Board of Governors have been elected without opposition, while one Fourth Circuit seat will be determined by balloting in March.

In the Fourth Circuit race, incumbent board member Samuel Grier Wells is being challenged by Fred Douglas Franklin. Both are from Jacksonville.

Ballots for the contested race will be mailed around March 1 and must be returned to the Bar’s election company no later than 11:59 p.m. March 21. Bar members will again have a choice of voting with the mail-in paper ballot or voting online. Complete instructions will be in the mailed ballots.

Elected without opposition include: Stephen Herre Echsner in the First Circuit; William Howard Davis in the Second Circuit; Bruce W. Robinson in the Third Circuit; Andrew Blaise Sasso in the Sixth Circuit; Sandra C. Upchurch in the Seventh Circuit; Mary Ann Morgan in the Ninth Circuit; Wayne L. Helsby in the Ninth Circuit; C. Richard “Rick” Nail in the 10th Circuit; Roland Sanchez-Medina in the 11th Circuit; Leslie J. Lott in the 11th Circuit; Dennis G. Kainen in the 11th Circuit; John H. “Jack” Hickey in the 11th Circuit; Michael S. Hooker in the 13th Circuit; William J. Schifino, Jr., in the 13th Circuit; John W. “Jay” Manuel in the 14th Circuit; David C. Prather in the 15th Circuit; Michelle R. Suskauer in the 15th Circuit; Walter G. “Skip” Campbell, Jr., in the 17th Circuit; Jay Cohen in the 17th Circuit; O. John Alpizar in the 18th Circuit; Laird A. Lile in the 20th Circuit; and lan M. Comisky of Philadelphia and Brian D. Burgoon of Atlanta as out-of-state representatives.

Board members will take their oaths of office for two-year terms at the Bar’s Annual Convention in June.

[Revised: 02-19-2017]