The Florida Bar

Standing Committees
Unlicensed Practice Of Law

The Florida Supreme Court has delegated to The Florida Bar, as an official arm of the court, the duty to investigate and prosecute allegations of unlicensed practice of law. The Rules Regulating The Florida Bar establish one statewide Standing Committee on Unlicensed Practice of Law to supervise circuit unlicensed practice of law committees. There must be at least one unlicensed practice of law investigating committee in each circuit. The circuit committees investigate reports of unlicensed practice. Recommendations to file litigation must be approved by the standing committee. The standing committee in turn operates under the authority of the Board of Governors. When the Board of Governors approves, based on a recommendation from the Standing committee, the Bar may initiate litigation seeking a civil injunction.

The committee also has the authority to issue proposed formal advisory opinions on whether specific conduct constitutes the unlicensed practice of law. The proposed opinions are filed with the Supreme Court of Florida.

Staff Contact    William Spillias
Jeffrey Michael Kolokoff Chair Miami  2017
Manohar Athavale *Vice Chair Lake Worth  2017
Joel D Fritton Vice Chair Brooksville  2018
Kellie D. Scott Vice Chair Tallahassee  2018
Adam Glenn Rabinowitz Board Liaison Fort Lauderdale  2017
Samuel H. Applebaum *Boca Raton  2019
Sui Chung Miami  2017
Dwayne Lamont Dickerson Boca Raton  2019
Amy Dawn Envall Orlando  2018
Jose L Estrada Tampa  2019
Stanley M Giannet *Wesley Chapel  2017
Jerry R Hall *Tavares  2019
Jason Hunter Korn Naples  2017
Paulita E Kundid *Daytona Beach  2017
David Lanaux *Fort Myers  2017
Rupasri Sikdar Lloyd Gainesville  2019
Gino Martone *Lauderdale Lakes  2017
Donald Matsuura *Miami  2017
Susanne McCabe Port Orange  2019
Nancy A. Murphy *Tallahassee  2017
Linjé E Rivers Tallahassee  2019
Rosanna M Schachtele *Okeechobee  2019
Joseph C Simmons *Tampa  2019
Brendan A Sweeney Fort Lauderdale  2019
Gary Van der Laan *Orlando  2019
André Tylor Young Orlando  2019
* Public Member


[Revised: 7-1-2016]