The Florida Bar

Standing Committees
Constitutional Judiciary Committee

The charge of the Constitutional Judiciary Committee is to consider various methods of strengthening Florida’s judiciary and maintaining its independence, including but not limited to, possible changes in state constitutional or statutory law. Among specific issues of likely consideration the committee will explore potential changes in the composition and appointment of our state’s judicial nominating commissions, money raising options to endorse candidates supporting judicial independence, as well as other reforms.

Benchmarks activities available online
The Constitutional Judiciary Committee's Benchmarks activities are available for download on line:

Benchmarks image of courts
Register for a free Benchmarks seminar at Fall Meeting
Benchmarks: Raising the Bar on Civics Education is civics education for adults – presented in an engaging and fun format that leaves participants wanting more, as noted by recent attendees:
“Great seminar."
“All excellent and very informative.”
“Awakened my knowledge of the Constitution.”
A seminar to teach attorneys how to make Benchmarks presentations will be held Friday, Sept. 18, from 8:30 till 10 a.m. at the Tampa Airport Marriott. Register by emailing: Susannah Lyle – Questions: (850) 561- 5669 Staff Contact    Susannah Lyle
Deborah Michelle Sisco Chair Tampa  2016
Sacha Dyson Vice Chair Tampa  2016
Michelle Renee Suskauer Board Liaison West Palm Beach  2016
Arlene Evon Acord Tampa  2017
Augustus Davis Aikens, Jr. Tallahassee  2016
John James Bajger Fort Lauderdale  2017
J Clancey Bounds Maitland  2017
Karl Andrew Burgunder Oviedo  2016
Edward John Carbone Tampa  2016
Rafael Angel Castro, III Miami  2017
Antony Derrick Constantini Tallahassee  2016
Angela Cote Dempsey Tallahassee  2017
Karla D Ellis Tallahassee  2017
Alan Orantes Forst West Palm Beach  2016
Thomas D Graham Miami  2017
Valeria Hendricks Lakeland  2017
Kenneth Joseph Joyce Fort Lauderdale  2017
Regina Ann Kardash Clearwater  2016
Dominic Kouffman Tampa  2017
Linda Marie Leali Miami  2016
Simone Marstiller Tallahassee  2016
Seth Eric Miles Coral Gables  2016
Thomas Powell Whitaker, Jr. Bradenton  2016
Carl Tucker Williams Boca Raton  2016

Constitutional Judiciary Committee Web page

[Revised: 7-1-2015]