The Florida Bar


June 25, 2014
Derek A. Schroth, Chair,
Fifth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission
(352) 589-1414

The Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission announces a vacancy in the Fifth Judicial Circuit for Circuit Court Judge. Applicants must have been a member of The Florida Bar for the preceding five years and must be a registered voter. The person appointed must be a resident of Hernando County, Lake County, Marion County, Citrus County or Sumter County at the time he/she assumes office. The Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission understands that the person appointed will likely serve in the Circuit Court of Marion County.

Applications may be downloaded from The Florida Bar website and are also available from the Chair:

Derek A. Schroth
600 Jennings Avenue
Eustis, FL 32726
Telephone: 352-589-1414
Facsimile: 352-589-1414

An original signed application with attachments, three copies of the application with attachments, and an electronic copy of the completed signed application with attachments must be delivered to Derek A. Schroth, Chair of the Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission. The electronic copy of the application with attachments should be in PDF form and should be submitted on a CD or thumb drive.

The deadline for submission of the application is Tuesday, July 15, 2014, at 5:00 p.m. No applications will be accepted after 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, July 15, 2014. Incomplete applications may be rejected in their entirety at the Commission’s discretion.

All interviews are set for August 8, 2014 at the Marion County Judicial Center, 110 NW 1st Avenue, (2nd Floor, Clerk of the Court David R. Ellsperman’s conference room) Ocala, FL 34475. Interview times will be established at a later date. Applicants will be notified of their interview time by e-mail.

Members of the bench, bar and public are encouraged to contact members of the Commission concerning applicants for judicial positions.

Further information regarding applicants and schedule of interviews will be posted on The Florida Bar website soon after the application deadline.

Members of the Fifth Judicial Nominating Commission are Derek A. Schroth (Chair), Robert Corcoran, W. James Gooding, III, Darryl W. Johnston, Del G. Potter, Christian W. Waugh, and James T. Schatt. A complete listing for each member is available on The Florida Bar website.


Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."

[Revised: 08-01-2014]