The Florida Bar


March 18, 2013
Lisa Tipton, APR,
The Florida Bar
(850) 561-5666

Editor’s Note: Lawyer photographs are available at this link on The Florida Bar website.

TALLAHASSEE, March 18 – The Florida Bar Board of Legal Specialization & Education is proud to announce that 221 of The Florida Bar members who earned legal board certification in civil trial or tax law in 1983 have maintained their board certification status for 30 years, including eight who hold emeritus specialist status.

In Florida, only board certified lawyers may use the terms “specialist,” “expert” or “B.C.S.” for Board Certified Specialist when referring to their legal credentials. Members who hold emeritus specialist status no longer practice law, but are recognized for their past and continuing contribution in the advancement of the specialty area through other career activities.

"Maintaining board certification for 30 continuous years is a significant professional accomplishment," said Florida Bar President Gwynne A. Young of Carlton Fields in Tampa. "These individuals are leaders by example in Florida's legal profession and we salute their commitment to excellence and professionalism in the practice of law."

Board certification evaluates attorneys’ special knowledge, skills and proficiency in various areas of law and professionalism and ethics in practice. About 4,600 of Florida’s 93,000 lawyers have earned board certification. Florida offers 24 specialty areas for board certification, more than any other state.

Background. Board certification is The Florida Bar's highest evaluation of attorneys' competence and experience in one or more of the 24 areas of law approved for certification by the Supreme Court of Florida. Florida Bar board certified lawyers must demonstrate ability and experience in their fields and professionalism within the legal community.

A lawyer who is a member in good standing of The Florida Bar and who meets the standards prescribed by the state's Supreme Court may become board certified in one or more of the 24 certification fields.

Minimum requirements for certification are listed below; each area of certification may contain higher or additional standards.

To become a board certified specialist, a lawyer must:

Board certification is valid for five years. During that time, the attorney must continue to practice law and attend Florida Bar-approved continuing legal education courses.

Recertification requirements are similar to those for initial certification. Not all qualified lawyers are certified, but those who are board certified have voluntarily taken the extra step to have their competence and experience evaluated.

For more information, please visit The Florida Bar Web site at or contact The Florida Bar’s Legal Specialization & Education Department at (850) 561-5842.

The lawyers grouped below by judicial circuit, cities and specialty areas this year are celebrating 30 years of Florida Bar board certification in civil trial or tax law.

1st Circuit (All from Pensacola)
2nd Circuit
3rd Circuit (Both Civil Trial)
4th Circuit (All from Jacksonville)
5th Circuit (Ocala)
6th Circuit Hugh Nilsen Smith, Civil Trial
7th Circuit (All Civil Trial) Brian Donovan Hill
Daniel Steven Wallace Paul A. Bernardini
James Lester Kaney
Richard Gary Rumrell 8th Circuit (All Civil Trial, All from Gainesville)
9th Circuit
10th Circuit (All Civil Trial)
11th Circuit
12th Circuit
13th Circuit
15th Circuit Lawrence Burton Friedman, Civil Trial
Thomas V. Siciliano, Tax Law Stephen Gary Fischer, Civil Trial (Emeritus Specialist) Patrick Charles Massa, Civil Trial

17th Circuit Harry M. Rosen, Civil Trial

18th Circuit
19th Circuit

20th Circuit

Out of State

Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."

[Revised: 05-08-2013]