The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
January 1, 2013
Eighteen elected to board, four contested races set

Eighteen lawyers have been elected to the Bar Board of Governors without opposition, while four other seats will be determined by balloting in March. There will be one contested board race in each of the Fourth, 12th, 15th, and 17th circuits.

Ballots for the contested races will be mailed around March 1 and must be returned to the Bar’s election company no later than 11:59 p.m., March 21. Bar members have a choice of voting with the mail-in paper ballot or voting online. Complete instructions will be in the mailed ballots.

* In the Fourth Circuit race, incumbent board member Michael G. Tanner is being challenged by Dale E. Workman. Both are from Jacksonville.

* In the 12th Circuit, Timothy A. Knowles of Bradenton will face F. Scott Westheimer of Sarasota.

* In the 15th Circuit, Ronald P. Ponzoli, Jr., of West Palm Beach will face David I. Shiner of Boca Raton.

* In the 17th Circuit, Debra Moss Curtis will face Diana Santa Maria. Both are from Ft. Lauderdale.

Those reelected to the Board of Governors without opposition include Lawrence E. Sellers, Jr., in the Second Circuit; Sandra Fascell Diamond in the Sixth Circuit; Carl B. Schwait in the Eighth Circuit; Paul L. SanGiovanni in the Ninth Circuit; Dori Foster-Morales and Michael J. Higer in the 11th Circuit; Lansing C. Scriven and Margaret Diane Mathews in the 13th Circuit; Gary S. Lesser in the 15th Circuit; Edwin A. Scales III, in the 16th Circuit; John M. Stewart in the 19th Circuit; Marcy L. Shaw in the 20th Circuit; Richard A. Tanner, Out-of-State; and Eric L. Meeks, Out-of-State.

New board members Renee E. Thompson in the Fifth Circuit; Steven W. Davis in the 11th Circuit; and Adam G. Rabinowitz in the 17th Circuit were also elected without opposition.

Board members will take their oaths of office for two-year terms at the Bar’s Annual Convention in June.

[Revised: 01-31-2017]