The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
July 15, 2013
Patterson takes the Foundation’s helm

Sarasota attorney John Patterson took office July 1 as president of The Florida Bar Foundation, a statewide charitable organization that provides leadership and funding for justice in Florida.

John Patterson Patterson, who received his undergraduate degree from Duke University and his law degree from the University of Florida, is partner with Livingston, Patterson, Strickland & Siegel, P.A., and focuses on real property, business, and banking law.

A Foundation board member since 2004, Patterson has chaired the development, finance and audit, and legal assistance for the poor/law student assistance grant program committees. He also has served as vice chair of the executive, grant program, and nominating committees.

His commitment to legal services includes serving as founding president and board member of the organization now known as Legal Aid of Manasota. He was the 1985 recipient of The Florida Bar President’s Award for pro bono service for the 12th Judicial Circuit.

Patterson is a past president of the Sarasota County Bar Association and is a former member of The Florida Bar Board of Governors. He has served on the 12th Judicial Circuit Nominating and the Second District Court of Appeal Judicial Nominating commissions. He is also active in Sarasota charitable organizations.

Patterson is a Florida Bar Foundation fellow, a member of the Foundation’s Gold Society for lifetime giving, and a member of its Legacy for Justice, which recognizes those who have made or facilitated major gifts or bequests to the Foundation. He is also a fellow of the American Bar Foundation.

Other new Foundation officers include Senior Judge Emerson R. Thompson, Jr., president-elect; Miami attorney Julio C. Jaramillo, first vice president; Jacksonville attorney Dominic C. “Donny” MacKenzie, second vice president; and Maria E. Henderson of the Tallahassee office of Akerman Senterfitt, immediate past president.

Newly appointed Foundation directors include Greg Coleman, Florida Bar president-elect; A. Hamilton Cooke, president of Florida Legal Services; Pauline E. Robinson; Paige A. Greenlee; and Tad A. Yates, each appointed to a three-year term expiring in 2016; and Erin H. Barker and Yara Lorenzo, each appointed to fill the remainder of a three-year term ending in 2014. Reappointed to three-year terms are West Palm Beach attorney Patrick J. Casey, Daytona Beach attorney Kathryn D. Weston, and Ft. Lauderdale attorney Juliette Lippman.

[Revised: 11-26-2016]