The Florida Bar
www.floridabar.org

Frequently Asked About CLER

On This Page
1. What is CLER?
2. What is the requirement?
3. Where may I find information on CLER?

4. Who administers the CLER program?
5. How often and by when do I need to report compliance?
6. Will I receive notice advising me that my reporting period is upcoming?
7. What do I do with the Affidavit?
8. What happens if I am late returning my Affidavit or do not complete the required hours?
9. Are there any exemptions from
CLER?

10. Other than attending approved CLE courses, how may I earn credit hours?
11. How is attendance posted on my CLER record?

12. How may I find information on CLE programs sponsored by The Florida Bar?
13. Will out-of-state CLE hours count toward CLER?

Back to Top


1. What is CLER?

CLER, or Continuing Legal Education Requirement, was adopted by the Supreme Court of Florida in 1988 and requires all members of The Florida Bar to continue their legal education.

2. What is the requirement?

Over a 3 year period, each member must complete 30 hours, 5 of which are in the area of ethics, professionalism, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness.

3. Where may I find information on CLER?

Rule 6-10 of the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar sets out the requirement. All the rules and policies may be found on this page of the website.

4. Who administers the CLER program?

Day-to-day administration is the responsibility of the Legal Specialization and Education Department of The Florida Bar. The program is directly supervised by the Board of Legal Specialization and Education (BLSE) and all policy decisions must ultimately be approved by the Board of Governors.
Back to Top


5. How often and by when do I need to report compliance?

Members are required to report CLE hours earned every three years. Each member is assigned a three year reporting cycle. You may find your reporting date on the mailing label of The Florida Bar News.

6. Will I receive notice advising me that my reporting period is upcoming?

Three months prior to the end of your reporting cycle, you will receive a CLER Reporting Affidavit, if you still lack hours.

7. What do I do with the Affidavit?

You will need to report your completed courses online or return the affidavit with any courses or activities you are not able to report online.
8. What happens if I am late returning my Affidavit or do not complete the required hours?

You run the risk of being deemed a delinquent member which prohibits you from engaging in the practice of Florida law.

Back to Top


9. Are there any exemptions from CLER?

Rule 6-10.3(c) lists all valid exemptions. They are:
1) Active military service
2) Undue hardship (upon approval by the BLSE)
3) Nonresident membership (see rule for details)
4) Full-time federal judiciary
5) Justices of the Supreme Court of Florida and judges of district, circuit and county courts
6) Inactive members of The Florida Bar

10. Other than attending approved CLE courses, how may I earn credit hours?

Credit may be earned by:
1) Lecturing at an approved CLE program
2) Serving as a workshop leader or panel member
3) Writing and publishing in a professional publication or journal
4) Teaching (graduate law or law school courses)
5) University attendance (graduate law or law school courses)
11. How is attendance posted on my CLER record?

Members should go online a report attendance for any approved CLE program they have completed. If a program is not approved, members may submit a request for credit. Below are links to the online posting and applications for credit.
12. How may I find information on CLE programs sponsored by The Florida Bar?

A list of the programs by The Florida Bar is available on the website.
13. Will out-of-state CLE hours count toward CLER?

Courses approved by other state bars are generally acceptable for use toward satisfying CLER.

Back to Top

[Revised: 04-19-2013]