The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
December 1, 2012
Floridians elect eight state attorneys

In eight contested state attorney races in the November 6 general election, voters re-elected three incumbents.

Democrat Willie Meggs held onto his Second Circuit seat with the narrowest margin in the eight races, just 2.6 percentage points. Democrat Mike Satz defended his seat in the 17th Circuit by capturing more than two-thirds of the vote, and Democrat Katherine Fernandez Rundle defeated write-in candidates with 99.98 percent of the vote in the 11th Circuit.

Republican Jeff Siegmeister was the only challenger to win over an incumbent in the general election, taking the Third Circuit seat.

Here is how the voting went:

* In the Second Circuit, Meggs defeated Republican Pete Williams.

* In the Third Circuit, Siegmeister successfully challenged incumbent Democrat Robert L. “Skip” Jarvis.

* In the 11th Circuit, Rundle prevailed over write-in candidates Omar Malone and Michele Samaroo.

* In the 12th Circuit, Republican Ed Brodsky won against Democrat John Torraco.

* In the 15th Circuit, Democrat Dave Aronberg defeated Republican Dina A. Keever and independent Robert Gershman.

* In the 16th Circuit, Democrat Catherine Vogel beat Republican Mark E. Kohl.

* In the 17th Circuit, Satz defended his seat against Republican challenger Jim Lewis.

* In the 18th Circuit, Republican Phil Archer beat out Democrat James Vescio.

Three races were decided in the primaries in August, with Republican incumbent R. J. Larizza in the Seventh; Democrat Jeff Ashton in the Ninth; and Republican incumbent Glenn Hess in the 14th prevailing.

Reelected without opposition were incumbent Republicans William Eddins in the First, Angela B. Corey in the Fourth, Brad King in the Fifth, Bernie McCabe in the Sixth, Bill Cervone in the Eighth, Jerry Hill in the 10th, Mark A. Ober in the 13th, and Bruce Colton in the 19th Circuit.

The next state attorney election for the 20th Circuit is set for 2014.

[Revised: 04-21-2017]