The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
November 1, 2013
Nominations for professionalism awards are now being accepted

The Florida Bar’s Standing Committee on Professionalism is now accepting nominations for its William M. Hoeveler Judicial Professionalism Award, Group Professionalism Award, and Law Faculty/Administrator Professionalism Award.

The Hoeveler Judicial Professionalism Award is to recognize “a judge who best exemplifies strength of character, service, and competence as a jurist, lawyer, and public servant. Nominees should be judges who have communicated their pledge to the ideals of justice and diligence in inspiring others to the mission of professionalism,” according to the committee.

The purpose of the Group Professionalism Award is to recognize one organization that has an innovative program that can be implemented by other organizations to promote and encourage professionalism within the legal community. Entrees are judged on their quality, how easy they are to duplicate by another association, the number of lawyers or law students participating or affected, the likelihood it will continue, and its success, among other factors.

The Law Faculty/Administrator Award is intended to honor a single faculty member or administrator of one of Florida’s 12 law schools who through teaching, scholarship, and service to the profession best supports or exemplifies the mission of the Standing Committee on Professionalism: “To promote the fundamental ideals and values of professionalism within the legal system and to instill those ideals of character, competence, civility, and commitment in all those persons serving and seeking to serve therein.”

Nomination forms can be found on the center’s website at

Nominations for the William M. Hoeveler Judicial Professionalism Award are due by February 1, 2014. The deadline for nominations for the Group Professionalism Award and the Law Faculty/Administrator Professionalism Award is February 14, 2014.

Nominations for the awards may be mailed or emailed to the Henry Latimer Center for Professionalism, The Florida Bar, 651 East Jefferson Street, Tallahassee, 32399-2300, or

All questions regarding the awards may be directed to Jacina Haston, assistant director for the Center for Professionalism, email, or by phone at (850) 561-5747.

Winners will receive their awards at the 2014 Annual Bar Convention in Orlando.

[Revised: 11-27-2016]