The Florida Bar
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
April 15, 2011
Nominations open for Florida Bar board certification awards

The Board of Legal Specialization and Education is accepting nominations for two awards that honor outstanding certified lawyers and their firms:

The Justice Harry Lee Anstead Award for Florida Bar Board Certified Lawyer of the Year recognizes exemplary professionalism, excellence, character, and commitment to The Florida Bar’s certification program and to the practice of law. Past winners include R. Thomas “Tom” Elligett, Jr., of Tampa; Ralph Artigliere of Blue Ridge, Ga.; John J. “Jake” Schickel and Michael G. Tanner of Jacksonville; Alan G. Greer of Miami; and Adele I. Stone of Ft. Lauderdale.

The Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Board Certification recognizes excellence and creativity by a certified lawyer or law firm in advancing the public’s knowledge of and appreciation for legal board certification. Accepted entries are newsletters, brochures, news stories, speeches, PowerPoint presentations, mementoes, special events, and print, radio, and television advertisements. Previous winners are the Fox Wackeen firm of Stuart, Spohrer & Dodd of Jacksonville, and Dorothy F. Easley and Mark P. Terry of Miami.

Nomination forms are available online at and are due by 5 p.m., May 20.

Nominations may be emailed, faxed, or mailed to BLSE Communications Committee Chair James R. Farrell; each form contains address and contact information. Nominations may be submitted anonymously and will remain confidential.

Both awards will be presented in June at the 2011 Annual Florida Bar Convention during the certified lawyers’ reception sponsored by Florida Lawyers Mutual Insurance Co.

For more information, contact Lisa Tipton at (850) 561-5769 or

[Revised: 04-20-2017]