The Florida Bar

Board Disciplinary Review Committee

The Disciplinary Review Committee (“DRC”) oversees the prosecution and appeals for disciplinary violations by Florida lawyers, recommends policy on lawyer regulation and discipline matters, and reviews and makes recommendations on disciplinary actions that require review of the Board of Governors or for which a Board member requests discussion.

The committee reviews and makes recommendations to the Board concerning disciplinary actions at all stages of the lawyer regulation process. DRC reviews each report of referee issued as a result of a disciplinary hearing prior to review and final determination by the Florida Supreme Court. The committee makes recommendations to the Board on whether to appeal to the Florida Supreme Court the referee’s factual findings, conclusions of law and recommendations of discipline.

The committee is also involved in reviewing pre-trial disciplinary matters pursuant to the procedures set forth in Chapter 3, Rules Regulating The Florida Bar. Such review includes matters pending before the local grievance committees (composed of lawyers and public members in the respondent’s judicial circuit who determine whether there is probable cause that the respondent committed a disciplinary violation warranting discipline). Each grievance committee has a Board of Governors member from that circuit assigned to serve as its designated reviewer, who may refer grievance committee decisions to DRC for review. These matters include designated reviewer requests for review of grievance committee probable cause findings, reports of minor misconduct and other actions. DRC also reviews grievance committee requests to defer cases.

DRC also reviews proposed consent judgments to resolve disciplinary complaints prior to hearing, requests for payment plans for costs, Clients’ Security Fund claims and other matters within the committee’s authority and purview.

Michelle Renee Suskauer Chair West Palm Beach  2016
Mary Ann Morgan Chair-elect Winter Park  2016
O John Alpizar Palm Bay  2016
Thomas Roe Bopp Tampa  2016
Brian David Burgoon Atlanta  2016
Fred Douglas Franklin Jacksonville  2016
John H Hickey Miami  2016
Anthony Holloway *St Petersburg  2016
Sam Nicholas Masters Daytona Beach  2016
Katherine Hurst Miller Daytona Beach  2016
Edward Duffy Myrtetus Glen Allen  2016
Adam Glenn Rabinowitz Fort Lauderdale  2016
Bruce Wayne Robinson Lake City  2016
Andrew Blaise Sasso Clearwater  2016
Wayne LaRue Smith Key West  2016
Lawrence W Tyree *Orlando  2016
F. Scott Westheimer Sarasota  2016
* Public Member

Grievance Agenda

[Revised: 7-1-2015]