The Florida Bar


August 16, 2013
Derek A. Schroth, Chair,
Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission

The Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission announces a vacancy in the Fifth Judicial Circuit resulting from the retirement of Judge Sandra Edwards-Stephen.

Applicants must have been a member of The Florida Bar for the preceding five years and must be a registered voter. The person appointed must be a resident of Hernando County, Lake County, Marion County, Citrus County or Sumter County at the time he/she assumes office. The Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission understands that the person appointed will likely serve Hernando County.

Applications may be downloaded from The Florida Bar’s website and are also available from the office of the Chair:

Derek A. Schroth, Chair
600 Jennings Avenue
Eustis, FL 32726
Telephone: 352-589-1414
Facsimile: 352-589-1414

An original signed application with attachments and an electronic copy of the completed signed application with attachments must be delivered to Derek A. Schroth, Chair of the Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission. The electronic copy of the application with attachments should be in PDF form and should be submitted on a CD or thumb drive.

The deadline for submission of the application is Friday, September 6, 2013, at 5 p.m. No applications will be accepted after 5 p.m. on September 6. Incomplete applications may be rejected in their entirety.

All interviews are tentatively set for Thursday, September 26, and, if needed, Friday, September 27. Interview times will be established at a later date. Applicants will be notified of their interview time.

Members of the bench, bar and public are encouraged to contact members of the Commission concerning applicants for judicial positions.

Further information regarding applicants and schedule of interviews will be posted on The Florida Bar website soon after the application deadline.

Members of the Fifth Judicial Nominating Commission are Derek A. Schroth (Chair), Michele Lieberman (Vice Chair), Robert Corcoran, W. James Gooding, III, Darryl W. Johnston, Del G. Potter, Christian W. Waugh, and James T. Schatt. A complete listing for each member is available on from The Florida Bar web site.


Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."

[Revised: 09-11-2013]