The Florida Bar

Legislation: Important Florida Legislative Session Dates

  1. Home
  2. For Our Members
  3. Legislative Activity
  4. Legislation: Important Florida Legislative Session Dates

 

Important Florida Legislative Session Dates

Interim Committee Meetings for the 2018 Regular Session

Tuesday, Sept. 12-Friday, Sept. 15, 2017
Monday, Oct. 9-Friday, Oct. 13, 2017
Monday, Oct. 23-Friday, Oct. 27, 2017
Monday, Nov. 6-Thursday, Nov. 9, 2017
Monday, Nov. 13-Friday, Nov. 17, 2017
Monday, Dec. 4-Friday, Dec. 8, 2017


Aug. 1, 2017
Deadline for filing claim bills (Senate Rule 4.81(2))

TBD
Deadline for submitting requests for drafts of general bills and joint resolutions

TBD
Deadline for approving final drafts of general bills and joint resolutions, including companion bills (Senate)

Jan, 9, 2018
Regular Session convenes (Art. III 3(b), Fla. Const.) noon; deadline for filing bills for introduction (Senate Rule 3.7(1))

Feb. 24, 2018
All bills are immediately certified (Senate Rule 6.8 and House Rule 11.7(i)). Motion to reconsider made and considered the same day (Senate Rule 6.4(4)).

Feb. 27, 2018
50th day – Last day for regularly scheduled committee meetings (Senate Rule 2.9(2))

March 4, 2018
55th day – No House bills on second reading may be taken up and considered by the House (House Rule 10.18)

March 7, 2018
58th day – The House may consider only: (a) returning messages, (b) conference reports, and (c) concurrent resolutions (House Rule 10.09)

March 9, 2018
60th day – Last day of Regular Session (Art. III, 3(d), Fla. Const.)

 

[Revised: 7-13-2017]