The Florida Bar

News Releases


December 19, 2018
CONTACT: Francine Walker; [email protected]
The Florida Bar
TELEPHONE: 850-561-5666

Eighteen incumbent members of The Florida Bar Board of Governors were re-elected to additional two-year terms without opposition; three unopposed candidates will serve as new board members in the 11th, 13th and 20th circuits; and one seat in the 11th Circuit has a contested election.

New terms will begin on June 28, 2019. Ballots for the contested race will be emailed or mailed to eligible voters by March 1, 2019, and votes must be received by midnight March 21. Results are expected to be announced March 22.

In addition, Miami attorney Dori Foster-Morales won election without opposition as president-elect designate of The Florida Bar. She will be sworn in as president-elect in June when John M. Stewart of Vero Beach becomes president.

Incumbents re-elected without opposition for additional two-year terms, 2019-21, are:

  • 2nd Circuit, Seat 1: Larry Sellers, Tallahassee
  • 4th Circuit, Seat 2: Michael G. Tanner, Jacksonville
  • 5th Circuit, Seat 1: Renee Thompson, Ocala
  • 6th Circuit, Seat 2: Sandra F. Diamond, St. Petersburg
  • 8th Circuit, Seat 1: Stephanie Marusak Marchman, Gainesville
  • 9th Circuit, Seat 2: Julia Lauren Frey, Orlando
  • 11th Circuit, Seat 6: Steven W. Davis, Miami
  • 12th Circuit, Seat 1: F. Scott Westheimer, Sarasota
  • 13th Circuit, Seat 2: Amy S. Farrior, Tampa
  • 15th Circuit, Seat 2: Ronald P. Ponzoli, Jr., West Palm Beach
  • 15th Circuit, Seat 4: Gary S. Lesser, West Palm Beach
  • 16th Circuit, Seat 1: Wayne LaRue Smith, Key West
  • 17th Circuit, Seat 2: Diana Santa Maria, Davie
  • 17th Circuit, Seat 3: Lorna Brown-Burton, Fort Lauderdale
  • 17th Circuit, Seat 5: Adam Rabinowitz, Fort Lauderdale
  • 19th Circuit, Seat 1: Gregory S. Weiss, Stuart
  • Out-of-State, Seat 1: E. Duffy Myrtetus, Glen Allen, Va.
  • Out-of-State, Seat 3: Eric L. Meeks, Cincinnati, Ohio

New members elected for two-year terms beginning in June 2019 are:

  • 11thCircuit, Seat 2: Nikki Lewis Simon
  • 13th Circuit, Seat 3: J. Carter Andersen, Tampa
  • 20th Circuit, Seat 2: John D. Agnew, Fort Myers

In the contested election in the 11th Circuit, Jorge L. Piedra and Alice K. Sum are vying for Seat 4. All candidates are from Miami.

The Board of Governors is the governing body of The Florida Bar with exclusive authority to formulate and adopt matters of policy concerning the activities of the state bar, subject to limitations in the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar. The Florida Bar is an arm of the Florida Supreme Court charged with lawyer regulation and other professional activities. The 52-member board is composed of:

  • The president and president-elect (one-year terms);
  • The president and president-elect of the Young Lawyers Division (one-year terms);
  • Representatives elected by members of the Bar from each of the state’s 20 judicial circuits;
  • Four out-of-state representatives elected by members who reside outside of Florida;
  • Two public/non-lawyer members appointed by the Florida Supreme Court. As of Dec. 1, The Florida Bar has 106,740 members, with 88,393 of those eligible to practice.

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."