The Florida Bar

News Releases


December 17, 2020
CONTACT: Francine Walker, [email protected]
The Florida Bar
TELEPHONE: (850) 561-5666

In elections for The Florida Bar’s governing board, 19 incumbent members of the Board of Governors were re-elected to additional two-year terms without opposition; one unopposed candidate will serve as the new board member in the 8th circuit; and two seats in the 11th and 15th circuits have contested elections.

In addition, two members have been nominated for the office of the president-elect: Steven W. Davis of Miami, and Gary S. Lesser of West Palm Beach.

Ballots for contested elections will be emailed or mailed to eligible voters by March 1, 2021, and votes must be received by midnight March 22. Results are expected to be announced March 23. Any runoff elections will be conducted between April 1 and April 22, 2021. New terms will begin on June 11, 2021.

Incumbents re-elected without opposition for additional two-year terms, 2021-23, are:

  • 2nd Circuit, Seat 1: Lawrence E. Sellers, Jr., Tallahassee
  • 4th Circuit, Seat 2: W. Braxton Gillam IV, Jacksonville
  • 6th Circuit, Seat 2: Sandra F. Diamond, St. Petersburg
  • 8th Circuit, Seat 1: Stephanie Marchman, Gainesville
  • 9th Circuit, Seat 2: Julia Lauren Frey, Orlando
  • 11th Circuit, Seat 2: Nikki Lewis Simon, Miami
  • 11th Circuit, Seat 4: Jorge Luis Piedra, Miami
  • 12th Circuit, Seat 1: F. Scott Westheimer, Sarasota
  • 13th Circuit, Seat 2: Amy S. Farrior, Tampa
  • 13th Circuit, Seat 3: J. Carter Andersen, Tampa
  • 15th Circuit, Seat 2: Ronald P. Ponzoli, Jr., West Palm Beach
  • 16th Circuit, Seat 1: Wayne LaRue Smith, Key West
  • 17th Circuit, Seat 2: Diana Santa Maria, Davie
  • 17th Circuit, Seat 3: Lorna Brown-Burton, Ft. Lauderdale
  • 17th Circuit, Seat 5: Adam Rabinowitz, Plantation
  • 19th Circuit, Seat 1: Gregory S. Weiss, Stuart
  • 20th Circuit, Seat 2: John D. Agnew, Fort Myers
  • Out-of-State, Seat 1: E. Duffy Myrtetus, Richmond, VA
  • Out-of-State, Seat 3: Eric L. Meeks, Cincinnati, OH

The new member elected for a two-year term beginning in June 2021 is:

  • 5th Circuit, Seat 1: Gordon J. Glover, Ocala

In the contested elections: In the 11th Circuit, Frances G. De La Guardia, Miami, and Leslie B. Rothenberg, Miami are vying for Seat 6. In the 15th Circuit, Manuel Farach, West Palm Beach; Michael J. Gelfand, West Palm Beach; Mark R. Osherow, Boca Raton; and Daniel Zuniga, Palm Beach Gardens, are vying for Seat 4.

The Board of Governors is the governing body of The Florida Bar with exclusive authority to formulate and adopt matters of policy concerning the activities of the state bar, subject to limitations in the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar. The Florida Bar is an arm of the Florida Supreme Court charged with lawyer regulation and other professional activities. The 52-member board is composed of:

  • The president and president-elect (one-year terms);
  • The president and president-elect of the Young Lawyers Division (one-year terms);
  • Representatives elected by members of the Bar from each of the state’s 20 judicial circuits;
  • Four out-of-state representatives elected by members who reside outside of Florida;
  • Two public/non-lawyer members appointed by the Florida Supreme Court. As of Dec. 1, The Florida Bar has 107,975 members, with 89,305 of those eligible to practice.

About The Florida Bar

Founded in 1949, The Florida Bar serves the legal profession for the protection and benefit of both the public and all Florida lawyers. As one of the nation’s largest mandatory bars, The Florida Bar fosters and upholds a high standard of integrity and competence within Florida’s legal profession as an official arm of the Florida Supreme Court. To learn more, visit


EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."