The Florida Bar

News Releases


December 17, 2019
CONTACT: Francine Walker, [email protected]
The Florida Bar
TELEPHONE: (850) 561-5666

In elections for The Florida Bar’s governing board, 17 incumbent members of the Board of Governors were re-elected to additional two-year terms without opposition; three unopposed candidates will serve as new board members in the 3rd, 7th and 13th circuits; and four seats in the 1st, 11th and 17th circuits have contested elections.

In addition, two members have been nominated for the office of the president-elect: Michael G. Tanner, of Jacksonville, and Renee E. Thompson, of Ocala.

Ballots for contested elections will be emailed or mailed to eligible voters by March 2, 2020, and votes must be received by midnight March 23. Results are expected to be announced March 24. Any runoff elections will be conducted between April 1 and April 22, 2020. New terms will begin on June 19, 2020.

Incumbents re-elected without opposition for additional two-year terms, 2019-21, are:

  • 2nd Circuit, Seat 2: Melissa N. VanSickle, Tallahassee
  • 4th Circuit, Seat 1: Michael Fox Orr, Jacksonville
  • 6th Circuit, Seat 1: Joshua T. Chilson, Clearwater
  • 9th Circuit, Seat 1: Thomas P. Wert, Orlando
  • 10th Circuit, Seat 1: C. Richard Nail, Lakeland
  • 11th Circuit, Seat 1: Roland Sanchez-Medina, Coral Gables
  • 11th Circuit, Seat 3: Jordan Dresnick, South Miami
  • 11th Circuit, Seat 5: Jeffrey Rynor, Miami Beach
  • 13th Circuit, Seat 4: Paige A. Greenlee, Tampa
  • 14th Circuit, Seat 1: Clifford C. Higby, Panama City
  • 15th Circuit, Seat 1: Rosalyn Sia Baker-Barnes, West Palm Beach
  • 15th Circuit, Seat 3: Robin I. Bresky, Boca Raton
  • 18th Circuit, Seat 1: James G. Vickaryous, Lake Mary
  • 20th Circuit, Seat 1: Laird A. Lile, Naples
  • Out-of-State, Seat 2: Ian M. Comisky, Philadelphia, PA.
  • Out-of-State, Seat 4: Brian David Burgoon, Atlanta, GA

New members elected for two-year terms beginning in June 2020 are:

  • 3rd Circuit, Seat 1: Kris B. Robinson, Lake City
  • 7th Circuit, Seat 1: Philip Bonamo, Daytona Beach
  • 9th Circuit, Seat 3: Tad Allen Yates, Orlando
  • 13th Circuit, Seat 1: Kenneth G. Turkel, Tampa

In the contested elections: In the 1st Circuit, Jeremy Branning and Ryan Lane Morrow, both from Pensacola, are vying for Seat 1. In the 11th Circuit, Hilary Metz of Miami, Michael Shelley of Miami Beach, and Alice Sum of Miami are vying for Seat 7. In the 17th Circuit, William Gelin, Oakland Park, and Jay Kim, Fort Lauderdale, are vying for Seat 1, and Hilary Creary, Fort Lauderdale, and Christina McKinnon, Miramar, are vying for Seat 4.

The Board of Governors is the governing body of The Florida Bar with exclusive authority to formulate and adopt matters of policy concerning the activities of the state bar, subject to limitations in the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar. The Florida Bar is an arm of the Florida Supreme Court charged with lawyer regulation and other professional activities. The 52-member board is composed of:

  • The president and president-elect (one-year terms);
  • The president and president-elect of the Young Lawyers Division (one-year terms);
  • Representatives elected by members of the Bar from each of the state’s 20 judicial circuits;
  • Four out-of-state representatives elected by members who reside outside of Florida;
  • Two public/non-lawyer members appointed by the Florida Supreme Court. As of Dec. 1, The Florida Bar has 106,740 members, with 88,393 of those eligible to practice.

About The Florida Bar

Founded in 1949, The Florida Bar serves the legal profession for the protection and benefit of both the public and all Florida lawyers. As one of the nation’s largest mandatory bars, The Florida Bar fosters and upholds a high standard of integrity and competence within Florida’s legal profession as an official arm of the Florida Supreme Court. To learn more, visit

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."