The Florida Bar

News Releases


June 3, 2019
CONTACT: Nancy E. Cason, Chair; [email protected]
Twelfth Judicial Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: 941-365-7171

The 12th Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission announces that it will meet on Friday, June 7, at the Manatee County Judicial Center, 1051 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton in the Court Administration’s 8th Floor Conference Room starting at 9 a.m. and continuing until the meeting is concluded. The purpose of the meeting will be to interview applicants to fill the Manatee County Court judicial vacancy created by the resignation of the Hon. Douglas Henderson.

The Applicants selected for Interview by the Judicial Nominating Commission, along with the 12th Circuit Judicial Nominating Commissioner designated to conduct further investigation of said Applicant, are as follows:

Applicant                                                       JNC Investigative Commissioner

Brian Chambers                                              Will Robinson

Heather Doyle                                                Patrick Neil

James Fowler                                                 Varinia Van Ness

Andrea Johnson                                              Bonnie Polk

Charles Near                                                  Ron Filipowski

Paul Olah                                                       Varinia Van Ness

Matthew Whyte                                              Hunter Norton

Kristy Zinna                                                   Carly Lambert

The Commission encourages individuals with information regarding the character, fitness and qualification for judicial appointment of any the above Applicants to reach out to the JNC Investigative Commissioner assigned to said Applicant, as set forth above.

The Applicant Interview schedule for the interviews to be held by the 12th Circuit JNC on June 7, will proceed as follows:

9 a.m.- 9:15 a.m.                        Roll Call/ Preliminary matters

Applicant interviews                     Open to the Public

9:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.                Charles Near

10:05 a.m. – 10:50 a.m.               Kristy Zinna

11 a.m. – 11:45a.m.                    Heather Doyle

11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.              Jimmy Fowler

12 -12:30 p.m.                           LUNCH

Preliminary deliberations (closed deliberative session)

12:30 p.m. – 1:15p.m.                 Brian Chambers

1:20 p.m.- 2:05p.m.                    Matthew Whyte

2:15 p.m.- 3:00 p.m.                   Andrea Johnson

3 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.                       Paul Olah

3:15 p.m. – completion                 Final Deliberations (Closed deliberative session)

The 12th Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission members are: Nancy Cason (Chairwoman), Varinia Van Ness (Vice Chair), Hunter Norton, Pat Neal, Bonnie Polk, Will Robinson, Carly Lambert, Ron Filipowski, and James Rolfes.


EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."