The Florida Bar

News Releases


January 19, 2024
CONTACT: Zachary J. McCormick, Chair; [email protected]
Fifth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: 352-742-7474

The Fifth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission announces a vacancy within the Fifth Judicial Circuit for a Circuit-Level Judicial position following the retirement of the Hon. Anthony M. Tatti. Applicants must have been a member of The Florida Bar for the preceding five years and must be a registered voter. The appointee must be a resident of the Fifth Judicial Circuit at the time he or she is appointed.

The Judicial Application may be downloaded from the Office of the Governor ( commission-information/) PLEASE NOTE: Effective July 1, 2020, the application has been substantially revised. Please be sure to download and use the current application. Applications are also available from the Chair:

Zachary J. McCormick

210 N. Texas Ave

Tavares, FL 32778

Telephone: 352-742-7474

Facsimile: 352-742-7475

Email: [email protected]

Applicants must submit a complete application, with current photograph, to the Chair at [email protected]. The deadline for submitting the applications is Wed., Feb. 7, 2024, at noon. No applications will be accepted after such date and time. Applications deemed incomplete may be rejected in their entirety at the Commission’s discretion. Applicants who are in need of guidance may contact the Chair.

Applications must be in .pdf form with a second .pdf version of the application with personal information not subject to public disclosure – such as the social security number – redacted as permitted by Section 119.071 of the Florida Statutes. Any material which is not redacted by the applicant pursuant thereto, shall be deemed public information subject to disclosure by the commission. The two .pdf files should be named in a “last name.first name” format. For example: Bob Smith should submit two files named: (1) Smith.Bob.pdf and (2) Smith.Bob-REDACTED.pdf. No paper applications will be accepted.

All interviews will be scheduled for Friday, Feb. 23, 2024, location to be announced at a later time.

Members of the bench, bar and public are encouraged to contact members of the Commission concerning applicants for judicial positions. Members of the Fifth Judicial Nominating Commission are, Zachary J. McCormick (Chair), David Ellspermann (Vice Chair), Matthew Foreman, Robert Briggs, Shanta Matthews, Nicole Blumenauer, David Jordan, Richard Mutarelli Jr. and Robert W. Batsel, Jr. A complete listing and contact information for each member is available on Gov. Ron DeSantis’ website.


EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."