The Florida Bar

News Releases


October 4, 2021
CONTACT: Shanta Nicole Matthews, Chair; [email protected]
Fifth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: 352-421-8722

The Fifth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission announces two vacancies in the Fifth Judicial Circuit due to the retirement of Judge S. Sue Robbins and the retirement of Judge William H. Hallman, III. Applicants must have been a member of The Florida Bar for the preceding five years and must be a registered voter in the State of Florida. The appointee must be a resident of Marion County, Lake County, Hernando County, Citrus County or Sumter County at the time he or she is appointed.

The Judicial Application may be downloaded from the Office of Gov. Ron DeSantis’ website. PLEASE NOTE: Effective July 1, 2020, the application has been substantially revised. Please be sure to download and use the current application. Applications are also available from the Chair:

Shanta Nicole Matthews
108 N. Magnolia Avenue Suite 600
Ocala, Florida 34475
Telephone: 352-421-8722
Facsimile: 352-732-4892
Email: [email protected]

Applicants must submit a complete application to the Chair at [email protected] The deadline for submitting the applications is Oct. 29, 2021, at 4 p.m. No applications will be accepted after such date and time. Applications deemed incomplete may be rejected in their entirety in the Commission’s discretion. Applicants who are in need of guidance may contact the Chair.

Applications must be in .pdf form with a second .pdf version of the application with personal information not subject to public disclosure – such as the social security number – redacted as permitted by Section 119.071 of the Florida Statutes. The two .pdf files should be named in a “last name.first name” format. For example: Bob Smith should submit two files names: (1) Smith.Bob.pdf and (2) Smith.Bob-REDACTED.pdf. No paper applications will be accepted.

All interviews are scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2021, at the Citrus County Courthouse, 110 N Apopka Ave, Inverness, FL 34450. Information regarding applicant interview times will be established and advertised at a later date. Applicants selected to be interviewed will be notified of interview times by email. All proceedings of the Commission are open to the public except for deliberations.

Members of the bench, bar and public are encouraged to contact members of the Commission concerning applicants for judicial positions.

Members of the Fifth Judicial Nominating Commission are, Shanta Nicole Matthews (Chair), Zachary J. McCormick (Vice Chair), Anita G. Carver, Matthew Foreman, Jennifer C. Rey, Charles K. Ruse, Jr., Matthew Foreman, Vanessa Thomas and Robert W. Batsel, Jr. A complete listing and contact information for each member is available on Gov. Ron DeSantis’ website.

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."