The Florida Bar

News Releases


May 6, 2019
CONTACT: Robert W. Batsel, Jr., Chair; [email protected]
5th Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: 352-867-7707

The 5th Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission announces a vacancy in the 5th Judicial Circuit for County Court Judge due to the elevation of Judge Brian Welke. Applicants must have been a member of The Florida Bar for the preceding five years and must be a registered voter. The individual appointed must be a resident of Marion County, Lake County, Hernando County, Citrus County or Sumter County at the time he or she assumes office.


Applications may be downloaded from The Florida Bar’s website and are also available from the Chair:


Robert W. Batsel, Jr.

1531 Southeast 36th Avenue

Ocala, Florida 34471

Telephone: 352-867-7707

Facsimile: 352-867-0237

Email: [email protected]


Applicants must submit a completed, signed, original and one hard copy of the application, along with one electronic copy and one electronic redacted copy (redacting any exempt information under Florida law) which must be delivered to Robert W. Batsel, Jr., Chair of the 5th Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission. Please submit a CD or thumb drive containing the application and attachments in PDF format.


The deadline for submitting the applications is Friday, May 17, at 4:30 p.m. No applications will be accepted after such date and time. Applications deemed incomplete may be rejected in their entirety in the Commission’s discretion.


All interviews are tentatively set for Tuesday, May 28, at the Lake County Courthouse, Clerk of the Circuit Court’s Conference Room, 3rd Floor, 550 W. Main Street, Tavares, Florida 32278. Interview times will be established at a later date. Applicants will be notified of interview times by email. Please be advised that the Commission may elect to forego interviews of applicants who were recently interviewed for a vacancy.


Members of the bench, bar and public are encouraged to contact members of the Commission concerning applicants for judicial positions.


Members of the 5th Judicial Nominating Commission are Robert W. Batsel, Jr. (Chair), Shanta Nicole Matthews (Vice Chair), Anita G. Carver, Darryl W. Johnston, Charles K. Ruse, Jr., James T. Schatt, Derek A. Schroth, and Vanessa Thomas. A complete listing for each member is available on The Florida Bar’s website.



EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."