The Florida Bar

News Releases


May 21, 2020
CONTACT: Hayden Dempsey, Chair; [email protected]
Second Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: 850-222-6891

The Second Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission convened and conducted interviews of ten individuals who applied to fill the County Court vacancy created by the elevation of Judge Anthony Miller. The ten applicants were interviewed on May 21, 2020, via video conference.

The commission voted on final recommendations for four qualified applicants. The certified list of names of the nominees sent to Gov. Ron DeSantis, alphabetically ordered, is as follows:

  • Robert Churchill
  • Lisa Barclay Fountain
  • Jason Jones
  • Mark S. Urban

The Second Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission members are Hayden R. Dempsey, Chair, Matthew J. Carson, Vice Chair, Kristina R. Osterhaus, Darrick D. McGhee, Brian Newman, Dan Russell, Erik Matthew Figlio, Robert Neil Clarke, Jr, and Stuart F. Williams.

About The Florida Bar
Founded in 1949, The Florida Bar serves the legal profession for the protection and benefit of both the public and all Florida lawyers. As one of the nation’s largest mandatory bars, The Florida Bar fosters and upholds a high standard of integrity and competence within Florida’s legal profession as an official arm of the Florida Supreme Court. To learn more, visit


EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."