The Florida Bar

News Releases


July 1, 2024
CONTACT: Maximillian Amster, Chair; [email protected]
Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission
TELEPHONE: 813-575-2266

As a result of the two county court vacancies created by the resignation of Judge Conrad and the elevation of Judge Murphy to the Circuit Court bench in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Gov. Ron DeSantis has convened the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission to select and submit the names of highly qualified candidates to fill the vacancies. The following individuals have applied for the vacancies:

County Court Vacancy Applicants

E. Christopher Abdoney

Adam L. Bantner, II

Travis J. Coy

Michelle A. Doherty

Christopher S. Dutton

Jeremy R. Griner

E. Michael Isaak

Jennifer P. Johnson

Joseph W. Kudia

Jennifer Lima-Smith

Cheryl Mason

Andrew J. McGinley

Sara K. Peacock Bartos

Teresa O. Prescott

Marisol Ruiz

Shirin Rustomji

Natalia B. Silver

W. Michael Thornton

Alicia Whiting Bozich

The Commission encourages and seeks comments regarding the qualifications of these applicants from the public and from members of the Bench and Bar. Comments may be addressed to Max Amster, Chair, Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission, and emailed to [email protected], or mailed to Max Amster, 1700 S. MacDill Ave, Suite 300, Tampa, FL 33629. Comments must be received no later than 12:00 p.m. on July 14, 2024, to be considered by the Commission.

Interviews will be conducted on July 15, 2024, at Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP, Bank of America Plaza, 101 E Kennedy Blvd Suite 2800, Tampa, FL 33602. Applicants will be contacted to confirm the time and location of the interviews. A complete interview schedule will be published in advance of the interviews. A remote appearance option will also be made available for the public to attend the interviews.

All proceedings of the Commission are open to the public except for deliberations. Questions about the application or interview process should be directed to the Chair, Max Amster, or Vice Chair, Pedro Bajo.

The members of the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission are:

Maximillian Amster, Chair, [email protected], 813-575-2266

Pedro Bajo, Vice Chair, [email protected], 813-223-3130

Michael Beltran, [email protected], 813-653-7097

Candace Rich, [email protected], 813-274-6000

Andrew J. Mayts, Jr., [email protected], 813-227-2248

Adam D. Griffin, [email protected]; 813-857-0008

Diego Pestana, [email protected], 352-346-1220

Matthew Hall, [email protected], 813-559-5523

Charles Reynolds, [email protected], 954-361-6984


EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."