The Florida Bar

News Releases

THE FLORIDA BAR REVAMPS ITS LEGAL GUIDE FOR TEENS AND YOUNG ADULTS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 26, 2021
CONTACT: Holly Brooks, [email protected]
Communications
TELEPHONE: 850-561-5767

With high school graduations quickly approaching, The Florida Bar has revamped its legal guide for teens and young adults by launching a new website and brand name, Legal Survival Guide: Florida Laws You Should Know. The online guide, www.legalsurvivalguide.org, is packed with FAQs on Florida laws that young people need to know, especially after they turn 18 years old and are considered a legal adult.

Turning 18 is a milestone that brings with it not just new experiences but also a whole new list of challenges, from leasing an apartment and taking out student loans to understanding drinking laws and criminal charges. The Florida Bar’s Legal Survival Guide addresses these topics and more, serving as a “one-stop shop” for legal information relevant to young Floridians.

“More than 200,000 high school seniors in Florida will soon be graduating, and they will encounter a wide range of new responsibilities that come with adulthood,” said Dori Foster-Morales, president of The Florida Bar. “The Law Related Education Committee of The Florida Bar created the Legal Survival Guide to help young people find answers to common legal questions they may have as they face the ‘real world.’”

“The new website for the Legal Survival Guide has a fresh, sophisticated look – and, most importantly, it was designed for visitors to quickly and easily find information on Florida laws,” said Law Related Education Committee Chair Allison Wiggins. “I encourage young adults, educators, and parents of young adults to use the guide as an educational resource.”

The Legal Survival Guide discusses a variety of topics pertaining to Florida law, including:

  • Fake ID: If you possess a forged, counterfeit, or stolen ID, you risk a third-degree felony. Penalties for these offenses can include a maximum of five years in prison and/or probation, and a $5,000 fine.
  • Driving under the influence (DUI): If you are convicted of DUI, penalties include possible imprisonment of up to six months, a loss of your driver’s license for up to one year, a fine up to $1,000 in addition to court costs, completion of a substance abuse course, 50 hours of community service, and the vehicle you were driving must be impounded.
  • Student loans: Before you take out a loan, it’s important to understand that a loan is a legal obligation that makes you responsible for repaying the amount you borrow with interest. If you decide to take out a loan, make sure you understand who is making the loan and the terms and conditions of the loan.
  • Sexual cyber harassment: A person who willfully and maliciously sexually cyber harasses another person commits a first-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine for the first offense.

Additionally, the website provides critical information on how to navigate the court system, how to communicate with law enforcement, and what rights are granted in case of arrest. Visit www.legalsurvivalguide.org to learn more.

About The Florida Bar

Founded in 1949, The Florida Bar serves the legal profession for the protection and benefit of both the public and all Florida lawyers. As one of the nation’s largest mandatory bars, The Florida Bar fosters and upholds a high standard of integrity and competence within Florida’s legal profession as an official arm of the Florida Supreme Court. To learn more, visit FloridaBar.org.

###

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."