The Florida Bar

Media Awards Entries – Deadline Extended to April 19

  1. Home
  2. News & Events
  3. Bar Blog
  4. Media Awards Entries – Deadline…

The deadline for the call for entries has been extended for The Parker Thomson Awards for Outstanding Legal Journalism in Florida and the Susan Spencer-Wendel Lifetime Achievement Award. The extended entry deadline is April 19, 2019.

The Florida Bar’s Media & Communications Law Committee has presented awards for stellar legal journalism for more than 60 years. In 2018, the media awards were renamed as a tribute to the late Miami lawyer Parker Davidson Thomson, for his countless contributions to media law. His expertise included helping newspapers obtain public records.

Qualified entries highlight the system of law and justice as it affects Floridians. Any newspaper, radio station, blog, television station, wire service or online-only publication located in Florida is eligible to enter.

Entries must have been published or produced between Jan. 1, 2018, and Dec. 31, 2018. Content of entries may be current or historical, objective or analytical in nature. Special consideration may be given to entries that demonstrate courage or tenacity on the part of the news medium or the journalists who produced the entry. Media organizations large and small are encouraged to enter. Judging criteria are not based on the greatest amount of resources used, but whether those resources available are used well and to the fullest in the tradition of outstanding journalism.

Reporters receiving first place will take home $500, and those receiving second place will get $250. If multiple reporters are by-lined on a winning entry, the cash award will be divided evenly among them. Reporters who choose not to accept the monetary prizes may opt to donate to the First Amendment Foundation. All honorees and their media outlets will receive plaques.

Read the full release for more information.