The Florida Bar

News Releases

  1. Home
  2. News & Events
  3. News Releases


January 22, 2018
Mark Hohmeister, [email protected],
The Florida Bar

The 2018 Pro Bono Service Awards ceremony will be held at 3:30 p.m. this Thursday, Jan. 25, at the Supreme Court of Florida. The annual Pro Bono Service Awards recognize outstanding commitment to providing legal services to Florida’s poor. Thursday’s ceremony will be streamed live at as well as on the first Facebook Live broadcast of the Florida Supreme Court (go to:

Last year, Florida attorneys collectively donated about $5.5 million in legal aid and more than 1.5 million hours of free legal service, in addition to more than 21,200 hours provided by law firms.

Awards to be presented Thursday are:

The 2018 Tobias Simon Pro Bono Service Award: Presented by Chief Justice Jorge Labarga to Stephen M. Todd (photo) of Tampa.

The Distinguished Judicial Service Award: The Hon. Vance E. Salter (photo), Florida’s Third District Court of Appeal.

The Distinguished Federal Judicial Service Award: The Hon. Patricia Seitz (photo), senior judge in the U.S. District Court of the Southern District of Florida.

The Law Firm Commendation: Hallisky & Davis, with offices in Daytona Beach and Sanford.

The Voluntary Bar Association Pro Bono Service Award: The George Edgecomb Bar Association, Tampa.

The Florida Bar Young Lawyers Division Pro Bono Service Award: Allison M. Stocker (photo) of Jacksonville.

The Florida Bar President’s Pro Bono Service Awards (presented to one lawyer in each of Florida’s 20 judicial circuits and one out-of-state lawyer):

1st Circuit: Antonio Bruni
2nd Circuit: Dan B. Hendrickson
3rd Circuit: John J. Kendron
4th Circuit: Andrea P. Reyes
5th Circuit: Danialle Riggins
6th Circuit: Erica K. Smith
7th Circuit: Pamela R. Masters
8th Circuit: Raymond F. Brady
9th Circuit: John R. Dierking
10th Circuit: Stephen R. Senn
11th Circuit: David Alschuler
12th Circuit: Robert L. Young
13th Circuit: Jo Ann Palchak
14th Circuit: Jennifer Wintrode Shuler
15th Circuit: Louis Marc Silber
16th Circuit: Ashley N. Sybesma
17th Circuit: Hilary A. Creary
18th Circuit: Timothy A. Moran
19th Circuit: Jeffrey Paul Battista
20th Circuit: Colette J. Kellerhouse
Out-of-State: Anayansi Rodriguez, London

Previous news releases with bios and photos of the honorees are available at:

Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."