The Florida Bar

News Releases

  1. Home
  2. News & Events
  3. News Releases


February 14, 2018
Derek A. Schroth, Chair; [email protected],
Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission

The Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission announces a vacancy in the Fifth Judicial Circuit for circuit court judge due to the resignation of Judge Curtis J. Neal. Applicants must have been a member of The Florida Bar for the preceding five years and must be a registered voter. The person appointed must be a resident of Marion County, Lake County, Hernando County, Citrus County or Sumter County at the time of assuming office.

Applications may be downloaded from The Florida Bar’s website and are also available from the chair:

Derek A. Schroth
600 Jennings Ave.
Eustis, FL 32726
Telephone: 352-589-1414
Facsimile: 352-589-1726
Email: [email protected]

Applicants must submit a fully completed signed original and one hard copy of the application, along with one electronic copy and one electronic redacted copy (redacting any information exempt under Florida law), which must be delivered to Derek A. Schroth, chair of the Fifth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission. The electronic copies of the application with attachments should be in PDF form and should be submitted on a CD or thumb drive.

The deadline for submitting the applications is Wednesday, Feb. 28, 2018, at 4:30 p.m. No applications will be accepted after 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 28, 2018. Incomplete applications may be rejected in their entirety at the commission’s discretion.

All interviews are set for Tuesday, March 20, 2018, at the Hernando County Courthouse, 20 N. Main St., 2nd Floor, Room 230 (Central Conference Room), Brooksville, FL 34601. Interview times will be established at a later date. Applicants will be notified of their interview time by email.

Members of the bench, bar and public are encouraged to contact members of the commission concerning applicants for judicial positions.

Members of the Fifth Judicial Nominating Commission are Derek A. Schroth (chair), Darryl W. Johnston (vice chair), James T. Schatt, Donald C. Barbee, Jr., Charles K. Ruse, Jr., Robert W. Batsel, Jr., Anita G. Carver, Vanessa Thomas and Shanta N. Matthews. A complete listing for each member is available on The Florida Bar website.

Like us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

EDITORS: Please note The Florida Bar is not an association and "Association" is not part of our name. Proper reference is "The Florida Bar." Local bar organizations are properly termed "associations."