The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

  1. Home
  2. News & Events
  3. Florida Bar News
The Florida Bar News
click to print this page  click to e-mail the address for this page 
July 15, 2017
Board makes a number of appointments

The Bar Board of Governors has appointed two Bar members to the ABA House of Delegates and also made several other appointments at its meeting in Key West.

The board chose retiring Bar Executive Director John F. Harkness, Jr., and West Palm Beach attorney William N. Shepherd for two-year terms in the ABA House of Delegates. Outgoing Bar President Bill Schifino and incoming President-elect Michelle Suskauer will automatically serve two-year terms.

The board appointed Steven C. Dupre of Tampa, Cathryn Henn of Boca Raton, Bridgette M. Lester of Largo, Kathryn M. Pugh of Ft. Myers, Stephen P. Smith of Port St. Lucie, and J. Samantha Vacciana of Boca Raton to two-year terms on the Florida Legal Services, Inc., Board of Directors.

The board selected Matthew A. Gissen of Miami, Mark A. Journey of Ft. Lauderdale, and board member Wayne LaRue Smith of Key West as attorney members, and Catherine A. Cullen of West Palm Beach and Patricia Fowler of Sanford and nonlawyer members for three-year terms on the Florida Lawyers, Inc., Board of Directors.

Nominated for two vacancies for five-year terms on the Florida Board of Bar Examiners were Suzanne D’Agresta of Orlando, Larry S. Hersch of Dade City, Doreen T. Inkeles of Boca Raton, Tom E. Lewis of Tallahassee, Barnaby L. Min of Miami, and Jennifer M. Mooney of Tampa. The Supreme Court will make the final appointments.

Alexis M. Connell of Tampa was appointed by the board to a four-year term on the Statewide Nominating Commission for Judges of Compensation Claims.

[Revised: 05-19-2018]