PRO HAC VICE RULE CHANGES
The Supreme Court of Florida recently approved amendments to the pro hac vice rules (Fla. R. Gen. Prac. & Jud. Admin. 2.510 and R. Regulating Fla. Bar 1-3.10), which become effective Feb. 7, 2022 (Case No. SC21-722). The amendments alter the fee structure for pro hac vice admission by establishing an annual renewal fee in addition to the existing application fee – with the amount for both fees to be set by the Bar’s executive director. The initial nonrefundable pro hac vice fee will remain $250. Information about the annual renewal fee will be sent directly to pro hac vice lawyers.
Questions regarding the pro hac vice rules should be directed to the UPL Department at 850-561-5840. For questions about how to pay the initial pro hac vice fee and, once notified, the annual renewal fee, please call Membership Records at 850-561-5831.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice and the Verified Statement require a $250 fee to The Florida Bar. How do I submit payment?
If submitting online, you may pay via debit or credit card. If mailing in a physical copy of the motion/verified statement with a check, the check must be made out to The Florida Bar and mailed to PHV Admissions, 651 E. Jefferson St., Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2300.
Do I have to send the Bar a Pro Hac Vice motion or Verified Statement if I am appearing before an administrative agency or the Division of Administrative Hearings (DOAH)?
No, you do not need to send the Bar any filing or fee for an appearance in an administrative proceeding. However, you should check the rules of the state agency or DOAH to determine the requirements for appearing and whether you need to file something with the agency or DOAH.
E-Filing by Pro Hac Vice Attorneys In Florida State Courts
E-filing through the Portal is mandatory in Florida state trial courts and civil divisions for all attorneys. To e-file you must register with the Portal and to register with the Portal, you must have a Pro Hac Vice (PHV) number.
NEW REQUESTS TO APPEAR
Your PHV number will be assigned by The Florida Bar upon receipt of a copy of your Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice and the $250 fee. Pursuant to the Rule 2.510, you must continue to file a Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice with the court and send a copy to The Florida Bar with the $250 fee in every case in which you wish to appear, even after you have a PHV number. You will receive your PHV number in an email from The Florida Bar. Remember that The Florida Bar merely assigns a PHV number for access to the Portal for filing. The Florida Bar will not rule on the motion and the issuance of a PHV number does not allow you to appear in a matter; only a court can grant that permission. Your PHV number is not a Florida Bar number and may not be used to appear in cases when not authorized by the court. Until you receive your PHV number, all pleadings, including the initial motion, must be e-filed by the local Florida attorney designated in your motion. You should make arrangements with the local attorney regarding filing.
Questions regarding the rules should be directed to the Unlicensed Practice of Law department at 850-561-5840. For questions regarding your PHV number, please contact Membership Records at 850-561-5831.