The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

17 apply for a seat on the Florida Supreme Court

Top Stories

Supreme Court sealThe Supreme Court Judicial Nominating Commission has released the names of 17 people who have applied to fill the at-large vacancy on the court created by the retirement of Justice Alan Lawson effective August 31.

  • Jeffrey Albinson
  • Edward Artau
  • Steve Berlin
  • Hunter Carroll
  • Eric Eisnaugle II
  • Stephen Everett
  • Renatha Francis
  • Denise Harle
  • Jeffrey Kuntz
  • Robert Long Jr.
  • Anne-Leigh Gaylord Moe
  • Tarlika Nunez Navarro
  • Ariana Fajardo Orshan
  • Cymonie Rowe
  • Meredith Sasso
  • Adam Tanenbaum
  • Thomas Winokur

Justice Lawson announced his upcoming retirement April 29 and comes at the conclusion of a 21-year judicial career and six years as a justice. Prior to his tenure on the Supreme Court, Lawson served 11 years on the Fifth District Court of Appeal, including a term as chief judge, and, four years as a circuit judge in the Ninth Circuit in Orange and Osceola counties.

The Supreme Court JNC will meet June 6 via Zoom to interview Kuntz. The commission will meet in-person on June 11 at the 13th Judicial Circuit Court, 800 E. Twiggs Ave, in Tampa beginning at 8:30 a.m. EDT to interview the other applicants. The interviews are public and will be broadcast on the Florida Channel.

The meeting will proceed as follows:

8:30-8:35 a.m.

Opening Remarks

1:15-1:45 p.m.

Robert Long

8:35-9:05 a.m.

Jeff Albinson

1:45-2:15 p.m.

Anne-Leigh Gaylord Moe

9:05-9:35 a.m.

Edward Artau

2:15-2:45 p.m.

Tarlika Nunez-Navarro

9:35-10:05 a.m.

Steve Berlin

2:45-3:15 p.m.

Ariana Fajardo Orshan

10:05-10:15 a.m.


3:15-3:25 p.m.


10:15-10:45 a.m.

Eric Eisnaugle

3:25-3:55 p.m.

Cymonie Rowe

10:45-11:15 a.m.

Steve Everett

3:55-4:25 p.m.

Meredith Sasso

11:15-11:45 a.m.

Renatha Francis

4:25-4:55 p.m.

Adam Tanenbaum

11:45 a.m. -12:15 p.m.

Denise Harle

4:55-5:25 p.m.

Thomas Winokur

12:15-1:15 p.m.


5:25-5:55 p.m.

Hunter Carroll

News in Photos