The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

45 circuit, county judicial races decided, seven headed to runoffs

Senior Editor Top Stories

Scales Books GavelOnly a handful of circuit and county court judicial races remain to be resolved after voters cast ballots in the August 18 primary election.

One race in each of the Second, Seventh, 15th, and 17th circuits went to a runoff, as did one county court race each in Hillsborough, Manatee, and Nassau counties.

Overall, ballots were cast in 34 circuit court races and in 16 county court races.

The runoff contests will be on the November general election ballot, along with the merit retention referendums on Supreme Court Justice Carlos Muñiz, and 24 district court of appeal judges.

Circuit court election results were taken from unofficial tallies posted on the Secretary of State Division of Elections’ website. The results are:

• In the Second Circuit, Group 2, Tiffany Baker with 36.3% and Amanda P. Wall with 23.7% made the runoff, defeating Nina Moody with 21.6% and Pete Williams with 18.5%. In Group 16, incumbent Judge Angela Dempsey defeated Kevin Alvarez 71.3% to 28.7%.

• In the Fifth Circuit, Group 22, Pam Vergara defeated incumbent Judge George G. Angeliadis 51.3% to 48.7%.

• In the Sixth Circuit, Group 28, Evan Frayman defeated Eva Vergos 52.7% to 47.4%. In Group 44, Elizabeth “Liz” Jack defeated Ashley Ward-Singleton 53.5% to 46.5%.

• In the Seventh Circuit, Group 6, Judge Mike Orfinger defeated Anna Handy 55.5% to 44.5%. In Group 14, Joan Anthony with 33.7% and Dan Hilbert with 36.9% made the runoff, besting MaryEllen Osterndorf with 29.4%. In Group 27, Alicia Washington defeated incumbent Judge Bryan Robert Rendzio 52.2% to 47.8%.

• In the Ninth Circuit, Group 1, Mikaela Nix bested Rhiannon Arnold 54.2% to 45.8%. In Group 21, Christy C. Collins defeated Judge Alan Apte 51.3% to 48.7%. In Group 34, Judge Mike Kraynick defeated Amrita Singh 58.9% to 41.1%. In Group 39, Vincent Falcone defeated Mark Van Valkenburgh 62.3% to 37.7%.

• In the 11th Circuit, Group 55, Joe Perkins edged Olanike “Nike” Adebayo 50.9% to 49.1%. In Group 57, Carmen Cabarga bested Roderick “Rod” Vereen 58.8% to 41.9%. In Group 65, Denise Martinez-Scanziani defeated Judge Thomas J. Rebull 51.2% to 48.8%. In Group 67, Judge Mavel Ruiz defeated Marcia Giordano Hansen 55% to 45%. In Group 75, Rosy Anette Aponte defeated Judge Dava J. Tunis 56.7% to 43.3%.

• In the 13th Circuit, Group 9, Kelly Ayers edged John Schifino 50.4% to 49.7%. In Group 19, Judge Michael Scionti overcame Ashley Ivanov 62.8% to 37.2%. In Group 30, Helen Daniel defeated Danny Alvarez 54.5% to 45.5%. In Group 31, Greg Green with 53.8% defeated Scott Bonavita with 22% and Gary Dolgin with 24.2%. In Group 39, Wendy Joy DePaul defeated Judge Scott Stephens 52.1% to 47.9%.

• In the 15th Circuit, Group 16, Judge Jeffrey Gillen defeated Henry Quinn Johnson 61.3% to 38.2%. In Group 30, Judge Jaimie Goodman with 36.5% and Adam Myron with 31.8% made the runoff, over Caryn Siperstein with 31.7%.

• In the 17th Circuit, Group 16, Dennis Daniel Bailey with 36.4% and Judge George Odom, Jr., with 40.2% made the runoff, besting Abbe Sheila Rifkin Logan with 23.4%. In Group 18, Judge Patti Englander Henning defeated Kristin Weisberg Padowitz 66% to 34%. In Group 27, Judge Frank David Ledee with 52.8% defeated Meredith Chaiken-Weiss with 31.9% and Matthew Isaac Destry with 15.3%. In Group 30, Judge Dale C. Cohen defeated Ian Richards 51.2% to 48.8%. In Group 50, Linda A. Alley defeated Judge Vegina “Gina” Hawkins 55.9% to 44.1%.

• In the 18th Circuit, Group 15, Judge Tesha Scolaro Ballou defeated A. Michael Bross, 63.3% to 36.7%. In Group 18, Steve Henderson defeated Michael Peacock 74.8% to 26.3%. In Group 21, Donna M. Goerner defeated Marc Jones 59.6% to 40.5%. In Group 25, Sam Bookhardt defeated Oscar A. Hotusing 70.8% to 29.2%.

• In the 19th Circuit, Group 19, Judge Victoria L. Griffin defeated Louis “Lou” Larsen 66.4% to 33.6%.

Results in court county judicial races were compiled from unofficial results of individual supervisor of elections websites. If any results have been omitted or are wrong, please contact [email protected]. Here are the county results:

• Bay County: In Group 1, Judge Timothy Campbell defeated Hoot Crawford 57.5% to 42.5%.

• Broward County: In Group 22, Allison Gilman defeated Casey Mills 65.4% to 34.7%. In Group 27 Judge Phoebee R. Francois defeated Jacob E. Segal 71.5% to 28.5%. In Group 31, Natasha DePrimo with 67.3% defeated Roseanna Bronhard with 12.6% and Sean William Conway with 20.1%.

• Duval County: In Group 1, Judge Scott Mitchell defeated Isaac East 58.6% to 41.4%. In Group 6 Rhonda Peoples Waters defeated Judge Erin Perry 58.1% to 41.9%.

• Hendry County: In Group 1, Judge Darrell R. Hill defeated Richard K. Sullivan 67% to 33%.

• Hillsborough County: In Group 7, Bill Yanger with 37.8% and Monique Scott with 25.1% made the runoff, over Nancy L. Jacobs with 24.6% and Rickey “Rick” Silverman with 12.4%.

• Manatee County: In Group 4, Melissa Gould with 30.9% and Kristy Zinna with 23.7% made the runoff, although a recount may be necessary as third place finisher Christopher M. Pratt had 23.5% and trailed Zinna by around 160 votes in unofficial returns. Connie Mederos Jacobs got 21.9%.

• Miami-Dade County: In Group 9, Miguel “Mike” Mirabal defeated Judge Joseph J. Mansfield 51% to 49%. In Group 24, Judge Christine Bandin defeated Shaun Spector 76.7% to 23.3%.

• Nassau County: In Group 1, Jenny Higginbotham Barrett with 29.5% and John Joseph Cascone with 25.5% made the runoff over Jan Carver with 22.6% and Harrison Wesley Poole with 22.4%.

• Palm Beach: In Group 12, Judge Debra Moses Stephens defeated Jaianna Seaborne 69.9% to 30.2%.

• Pasco County: In Group 5, Joseph “Joe” Justice defeated Catie Mansfield 51.1% to 48.9%.

• Seminole County: In Group 6, Wayne Culver defeated Jessica Damoth 53.6% to 46.4%.

• Volusia County: In Group 6, Judge Chris Miller defeated Nora H. Hall 58.3% to 41.7%.

News in Photos