The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Butler to join the Board of Governors

Top Stories
Jesse R. Butler

Jesse R. Butler

Sarasota attorney Jesse R. Butler has been elected without opposition to the Bar’s Board of Governors. Qualification for a vacant 12th Circuit seat ended February 14.

Butler is a trial attorney with Dickinson & Gibbons and is board certified in appellate practice. Butler is currently a representative on the Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors. He will be sworn in at the Bar’s Annual Convention in June and will serve the remainder of an unexpired two-year term.

Balloting gets underway March 1 in the race for Bar president-elect between Lorna Brown-Burton of Ft. Lauderdale and Scott Westheimer of Sarasota.

On the ballot this year is also one Board of Governors contest in the 10th Circuit between incumbent C. Richard Nail and Victor R. Smith and one in the 17th Circuit between William “Bill” Gelin and incumbent Jay Kim; and one 20th Circuit race for a seat on the Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors between Joseph Coleman and Francesca Passidomo.

Election Services Corporation, which administers The Florida Bar’s elections, will email or mail ballots to the more than 93,000 eligible voters. Leading up the election, 5,254 members consented to receive only an eballot this year, on top of the 6,773 members who opted for an eballot last year and will automatically receive an eballot this year.

The rest of the eligible voters will receive a courtesy eballot and paper ballot with instructions on how to cast their vote online with the Bar’s election company. If a member votes online, the paper ballot is void.

The submission deadline for all ballots is 11:59 p.m. (EDT) on March 21.

Anyone needing assistance may contact Election Services Corporation at 866-720-4357 or email [email protected] Monday through Friday, 9 am. to 5 p.m. (EDT).

The winner between Brown-Burton and Westheimer will be sworn in as president-elect at the June Annual Convention when current President-elect Gary Lesser is sworn in as president and will become president in June 2023.

Here are the platform statements from Lorna Brown-Burton and Scott Westheimer.

  • Here is a link to questions posed by the News to the Bar president-elect candidates.
  • Here is a link to the platform statements of the candidates running for the Board of Governors.
  • Here is a link to the platform statements of the candidates running for the YLD Board of Governors.

News in Photos