The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Email sent to Bar members asking if they would like to vote electronically in the upcoming Bar elections

Top Stories

The Florida Bar Protecting Rights, Pursuing Justice, Promoting Professionalism sealElection Services Corporation, which administers The Florida Bar’s elections, has sent an email to the membership asking if they want to opt-in to receiving an electronic ballot for the races that will be decided in March.

This is a legitimate email communication pertaining to the Bar’s upcoming elections.

The email arrives with “The Florida Bar Election eBallot Option” in the subject line. The body of the mail reads: “Dear Florida Bar Member: We are pleased to offer you the opportunity to receive your Florida Bar confidential election ballot by email. By consenting to this option, you will not receive a paper ballot. Just click on the link below to consent to letting us email you the voting instructions. We need to hear from you by 5:00 PM (EST) on January 31, 2020.

“Members are encouraged to receive their voting material by email. By accepting this electronic option, you will be expediting the election process. Voting instructions will be sent via email on February 28, 2020. If we do not receive your online consent, a paper ballot will be mailed to you on February 28, 2020.

“Eballot consent link:

“If you click on the link and it does not automatically open your web browser, please open your Internet browser and then copy and paste the URL into the ‘Address’ field.

“Thank you for participating.

“Please add our address: [email protected] to your email contacts/whitelist in order to ensure that your voting information arrives in your Inbox.”

On the ballot this year is a contested race for Bar president-elect between Michael Tanner of Jacksonville and Renée Thompson of Ocala. Three seats on the Bar Board of Governors will have contested races in the upcoming March elections, including:

• In the 11th Circuit, Seat 7, Michael Shelley of Miami Beach and Alice Sum of Miami have filed to replace retiring Jack Hickey.

•In the 17th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Jay Kim of Ft. Lauderdale is being challenged by William Gelin of Oakland Park.

• In the 17th Circuit, Seat 4, incumbent Hilary Creary of Ft. Lauderdale is being challenged by Christina McKinnon of Miramar.

Balloting will also take place for two contested seats for the Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors, including:

• In the Fourth Circuit, Seat 2, Valeen Arena, Angela Huston Miller, and Sarah Morris.

• In the Sixth Circuit, Seat 2, Randall D. Baskin and Benjamin S. Thomas.

Platform statements for the race for Bar president-elect may be found here. Platform statements for the Board of Governor candidates may be accessed here and platform statements for the YLD board races may be found here.

Ballots for all the contested races will be emailed or mailed on February 28, and all votes must be received prior to midnight, March 23.

News in Photos