The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

House committee assignments set

Senior Editor Top Stories

Florida House sealHouse Speaker Jose Oliva, R-Miami Lakes, has announced changes to the House committee structure and his leadership team months ahead of the January 14 start of the 2020 session.

The changes come just days before the first interim committee week, September 16-20.

Much of the shuffling was to accommodate the elimination of the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee and the creation of a Local Administration Subcommittee, which will be chaired by Rep. Scott Plakon, R-Longwood.

Key leadership positions remain largely unchanged.

Rep. Travis Cummings, R-Flemming Island, will remain chair of the Appropriations Committee, and Rep. Bryan Avila, R-Miami Springs, will continue to chair the Ways & Means Committee. Rep. Chris Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor, will remain Rules Committee chair, and Rep. Jennifer Sullivan, R-Mount Dora, will remain Education Committee chair.

The committees most closely watched by the legal profession also remained relatively untouched.

Rep. Paul RennerRep. Paul Renner, R-Palm Coast, will remain chair of the Judiciary Committee, and Rep. Clay Yarborough, R-Jacksonville, will remain chair of the Justice Appropriations Subcommittee.

While Rep. Bob Rommel, R-Naples, will continue to chair the Civil Justice Subcommittee, Rep. Bobby Payne, R-Palatka, will replace Rep. Jackie Toledo, R-Tampa, as vice chair.

Rep. James Grant, R-Tampa, will continue to chair the Criminal Justice Subcommittee, with Rep. Stan McClain, R-Ocala, remaining as vice chair.

Committees dealing with commerce and social services received some of the most notable tweaks.

Rep. Byron Donalds, a Naples Republican and former chair of the PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee, will replace Rep. Cyndi Stevenson, R-St. Johns, as chair of the Insurance & Banking Subcommittee.

Rep. Rick Roth, R-West Palm Beach, will replace Stevenson as vice chair of the Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee.

Meanwhile, Stevenson will take Plakon’s former assignment as chair of the Oversight, Transparency & Public Management Subcommittee.

News in Photos