The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

January 1, 2019, News and Notes

News & Notes

James P. Hanratty of Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin of Jacksonville has been inducted into the membership of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

Jeanmarie Whalen of Domnick Cunningham & Whalen in Palm Beach Gardens was a panelist on the Palm Beach County Bar Association Sidebar featuring Women Trial Lawyers discussing key themes for young trial lawyers to excel in the courtroom including trial techniques and litigation strategies.

Maria Sachs was a featured key note speaker at the Woz U Education Summit in Scottsdale, Arizona. Topics discussed included: preparing Florida’s students for technology jobs of tomorrow.

Ronald Kammer of Hinshaw & Culbertson in Miami spoke on a panel titled “Jurisdictional Update — Overview of the Most Active and Emerging Jurisdictions” at Perrin Conferences’ National Construction Defect Conference in Ft Lauderdale.

Nehemiah Jefferson of The Jefferson Firm, LLC has joined the faculty of Franklin University as an adjunct professor.

Trisha Sanor Widowfield of Haliczer, Pettis & Schwamm served as a panelist at the Broward Country Bar Association Young Lawyers Section’s luncheon titled “Bill, Bill, Bill: A Young Attorney’s Guide to Timekeeping and Managing Billable Hours.”

Marcus Susen of Koch Parafinczuk Wolf Susen presented at Mass Torts Made Perfect in Las Vegas at a panel titled “Essure discontinued: Where do we go from here?”

Scott Hawkins and Joanne O’Connor of Jones Foster have been appointed by the United States District Court Southern District of Florida to serve on the newly established West Palm Beach Federal Courthouse Committee.

Vivian de las Cuevas-Diaz of Holland & Knight was honored by the Greater Miami & The Keys Chapter of the American Red Cross at its 25th Annual Sara Hopkins Woodruff Spectrum Awards For Women Luncheon.

Miranda Lundeen Soto of Shutts & Bowen in Miami participated in the ABA’s “MOCK and BEYOND: Maximizing the Benefits that Experienced Trial Consultants Can Bring to Your Trial Preparation Strategy” webinar.

Ellen L. Leesfield of Miami has recently been selected as a panel member in the American Arbitration Association’s National Healthcare Panel, having served as a panel member in AAA’s International Law, Employment, Commercial and Maritime Law Panels.

Roy L. Weinfeld presented “Bankruptcy & Real Estate: Implications and Opportunities” to the Miami Association of Realtors.

Jim Seay of Holland & Knight in Orlando received the Orlando Business Journal’s Corporate Philanthropist of the Year Award.

Charles Telfair recently became a president-elect of the Manatee County Bar Association.

Rebecca G. Doane of Doane and Doane in North Palm Beach was selected by the Florida Commission on the Status of Women to receive the FCSW Spirit of Community Award for her contributions and service to women’s and children’s causes, and her community.

Janeia Daniels Ingram of the Florida Public Employees Relations Commission keynoted the Women’s Power Luncheon at the Florida State University Club Center. She spoke about managing work-life imbalance and provided helpful tips to attendees on the issue.

Haydee Sera of Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman has been elected to the Cuban American Bar Association Board of Directors.

Dennis Wall completely updated the claims handling and exclusions chapters in his co-authored book, “Catastrophe Claims: Insurance Coverage for Natural and Man-Made Disasters,” which has just been published by Thomson Reuters West (November 2018 edition).

Stephen J. Mitchell of Squire Patton Boggs received the 2018 Certificate of Appointment as a member of the MacDill Support Council of the 6th Air Mobility Wing and was appointed to the board for the USF Institute of Applied Engineering, where he was elected as vice chair at the first board meeting.

John Quick of Weiss Serota Helfman Cole & Bierman has been elected president of the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade.

Samah T. Abukhodeir of The Florida Probate & Family Law Firm in Miami spoke on “AMA: Perspectives from Millennial Lawyers” at the 2018 ABA Professional Success Summit in Houston, Texas.

Jean Pierre Espinoza of Espinoza Law Offices has been elected president of the Hispanic Bar Association for the 10th Judicial Circuit.

Jennifer Diaz of Diaz Trade Law organized and led the OWIT International 18th World Conference in Nairobi, Kenya. She also moderated an AWESOME Mega Session at the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals annual conference titled Global Volatility & Risk in Nashville.

Judge Cindy S. Lederman received a Lifetime Achievement Award for Advocacy on Behalf of Vulnerable Children from the American Academy of Pediatrics at its annual conference.

News in Photos