The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Nominations sought for professionalism awards

Top Stories

Professionalism Awards

The Bar’s Standing Committee on Professionalism is now accepting nominations for its annual William M. Hoeveler Judicial Professionalism, Law Faculty/Administrator, and Group Professionalism awards.

Nominations are due by February 11 and nominations can be made or nominating forms downloaded by going to

The Hoeveler Award, named after the late distinguished U.S. Southern District of Florida judge, recognizes an active judge who best exemplifies strength of character, service, and competence as a judge, lawyer, and public servant. Past winners include Florida Second Circuit Chief Judge Jonathan Sjostrom, U.S. Middle District of Florida Judge Marcia Morales, Florida 11th Circuit Judge Andrea R. Wolfson, U.S. Southern District of Florida Judge Paul C. Huck, and Hoeveler.

The Group Professionalism Award represents a program offered by a bar association, inn of court, judicial organization, or law school group that enhances professionalism among lawyers and law students. Past winners include the Eight Judicial Circuit Bar Association, the Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad College of Law, the Fifth Judicial Circuit Professionalism Committee, and the University of Florida Levin College of Law.

The Law Faculty/Administrator Professionalism Award recognizes a Florida law school faculty member or administrator who best exemplifies the mission of the Standing Committee on Professionalism. Past winners include Rachel Inman, associate dean of Student Affairs at UF Levin College of Law, Phyllis Kotey of the Florida International University College of Law, Nancy Benavides of the Florida State University College of Law, and Bruce R. Jacob of Stetson University.

The awards will be presented during the Bar’s June Annual Convention.

News in Photos