The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Renner names chairs of a newly reorganized committees

Senior Editor Top Stories
Rep. Tom Leek

Rep. Tom Leek

Rep. Tom Leek, R-Daytona Beach, will chair the House Appropriations Committee, and Rep. Tommy Gregory, R-Lakewood Ranch, will chair Judiciary, House Speaker Paul Renner announced hours after he was sworn in to lead the largest Republican majority since 2014.


Re. Tommy Gregory

Renner announced the chairs of a newly reorganized committee structure that will  include a “Select Committee on Hurricane Resiliency and Recovery,” that Renner said will address the aftermath of hurricanes Ian and Nicole and look to prevent damage from future storms.

Renner repeated his promise to deliver “bold” reforms.

“The knowledge and experience across this team of committee chairmen will help us deliver a bold agenda that will secure Florida’s future and help us leave our state better off than we found it,” Renner said in a statement. “Our new committee structure will help us move key legislation through the process to address unique challenges and opportunities. I believe we have the right leaders at the right time to live up to this unique moment in Florida history.”

Leek, a 1997 graduate of the Stetson University College of Law, lists his occupation in his House biography as “chief legal officer.”  A Columbus, Ohio, native, he was first elected to the  House in 2016.

Gregory, an attorney and Air Force Academy alumnus, served in the Air Force from 1994-2014. A 2000 graduate of the University of Texas School of Law, Gregory was first elected to the House in 2018 and reelected subsequently.

Shortly after announcing his committee chairs, Renner and Senate President Kathleen Passidomo issued a joint statement announcing that lawmakers will convene a special session December 12-16.

A “call” will be issued after the Thanksgiving holiday with a detailed agenda, the leaders said.

Gov. Ron DeSantis said earlier this month that he wanted lawmakers to convene a special session before the end of the year to address property insurance reforms and property tax relief for Hurricane Ian victims.

Other House committee appointments include:

  • Rep. Bob Rommel, Commerce Committee chair
  • Rep. Ralph Massullo, Education & Employment Committee chair
  • Rep. Bobby Payne, Infrastructure Strategies Committee chair
  • Rep. Randy Fine, Health & Human Services Committee chair
  • Rep. Daniel Perez, Rules Committee chair
  • Rep. Lawrence McClure, State Affairs Committee chair
  • Rep. Stan McClain, Ways & Means Committee chair
  • Rep. Mike Grant, Select Committee on Hurricane Resiliency & Recovery chair

News in Photos