The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Tax Section is 70-years strong; unveils past chairs commemorative cup

News in Photos
Tax Section event

Former Tax Section chairs with 2022-2023 Chair Mark R. Brown. From the left are William R. Lane, Jr., Harris L. Bonnette, Jr., Janette M. McCurley, Michael D. Minton, Brown, Cristin C. Keane, Joel D. Maser, D. Michael O’Leary, and Michael A. Lampert.

The Tax Section is celebrating its 70th anniversary this month, and Chair Mark R. Brown marked the occasion with a special tribute to the section’s former chairs. During the section’s recent organizational meeting on Amelia Island, Brown unveiled a Tax Section Cup that is engraved with individual plaques for each member who has served as chair since the section was organized in 1952.

Brown said the cup will be displayed at each in-state Tax Section meeting during the year.

“The cup not only serves as a visual reminder of the section’s history, it also honors the service of each former chair,” said Brown, a partner with Comiter, Singer, Baseman & Braun in Palm Beach Gardens. “The cup will be updated each year before our July organizational meetings and hopefully will become a very special section tradition.”

The Tax Section of The Florida Bar is an outgrowth of the Committee on Federal Taxation of The Florida Bar. The leaders of this standing committee of the Bar recognized that the rapidly evolving field of tax law needed more specialized treatment. Beginning in September of 1950, the committee changed its name to the Tax Committee and adopted regional meetings and area chairs to encourage greater committee participation. The evolutionary process culminated in the formation of the Tax Section by a vote of the Board of Governors at the annual Bar Convention in June of 1952. The Tax Committee formally ceased operations and reorganized itself as the Tax Section at an organizational meeting held in Orlando on July 26, 1952.

Learn more about the Tax Section’s history on its website.


News in Photos