The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Three elected to the Board of Governors Executive Committee

Senior Editor Top Stories

Board of Governors SealThe Florida Bar Board of Governors has voted to elevate three members to the Executive Committee, a select panel empowered to act for the board between its meetings.

In online balloting following nominations at a May 15 videoconference meeting, board members voted to appoint Paige Greenlee, Jay Kim, and Michael Orr.

Kim, who was reelected earlier this year to represent the 17th Circuit, is managing partner of Kim Vaughn Lerner in Ft. Lauderdale, where he specializes in complex commercial litigation.

Orr, who was reelected earlier this year to represent the Fourth Circuit, is a partner/shareholder with Orr Cook in Jacksonville, where he specializes in complex commercial litigation.

Greenlee, who was reelected earlier this year to represent the 13th Circuit, is founder of Greenlee Law in Tampa, where she also specializes in complex commercial litigation.

Incoming President Dori Foster-Morales announced earlier that her direct appointments to the committee were Sia Baker-Barnes of West Palm Beach and Roland Sanchez-Medina of Coral Gables.

The Executive Committee is composed of the president, president-elect, and the chairs of the Budget, Legislation, Communications, Disciplinary Review, and Program Evaluation committees, as well as the Young Lawyers Division president, two members selected by the president, and three members selected by the board.

Unless otherwise limited by rule, the Executive Committee has the authority to “exercise the function of the Board to the extent authorized by the Board on any specific matter, and on any other matter which necessarily must be determined between meetings of the board.”

The Board of Governors is the governing body of The Florida Bar with exclusive authority to formulate and adopt matters of policy concerning the Bar’s activities, subject to limitations in the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar. The Florida Bar is an arm of the Florida Supreme Court charged with lawyer regulation and other professional activities. The 52-member board is composed of:

• The president and president-elect (one-year terms);

• The president and president-elect of the Young Lawyers Division (one-year terms);

• Representatives elected by members of the Bar from each of the state’s 20 judicial circuits;

• Four out-of-state representatives elected by members who reside outside of Florida; and

• Two public/non-lawyer members appointed by the Florida Supreme Court.


News in Photos