The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

Wartenberg takes the reins of the Family Law Section

Top Stories
Philip Wartenberg and Heather Apicella

Philip Wartenberg and Heather Apicella

Philip S. Wartenberg was sworn in as chair of the Family Law Section June 22 during the annual Membership Awards and Installation Presentation in conjunction with the Bar’s Annual Convention.

Wartenberg, a general magistrate, has been a member of the Family Law Section for over two decades, previously serving as chair of the Board Certification Review Course and several operational committees, including legislation. He was elected to the executive council in 2014. He has also served as chair of the Hillsborough County Bar Association’s Family Law Section.

Wartenberg was appointed by Chief Judge Ronald Ficarrotta to serve as general magistrate in the 13th Circuit in 2020.

In addition to Warternberg, Family Law Section Executive Committee members for 2022-2023 include Sarah E. Kay, chair-elect, of Tampa, Christopher W. Rumbold, treasurer, of Ft. Lauderdale, Aimee Gross, secretary, of Ft. Lauderdale, and Heather L. Apicella, immediate past chair, of Boca Raton. All five members of the Family Law Section Executive Committee are board certified in marital and family law.

Three new member were also added to the sections executive council: Jamie M. Epstein of Ft. Lauderdale, Marck K. Joseph, Jr., of Miami, and Matthew E. Thatcher of Tampa.

Also taking place during the ceremony, six newly board certified marital and family law attorneys were sworn in: Stephen Douglas Gregg, Krista Mahalak, Andrew Frank Nickolaou, Andrew Dean Reder, Christopher W. Rumbold, and Andrew Ryan Wilson.

News in Photos