The Florida Bar

Florida Bar News

YLD board nominations now being accepted

Top Stories

YLD sealNominating petitions for positions on the Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors must be received in The Florida Bar headquarters office on or before 5 p.m., December 16.

Executive Director Joshua E. Doyle on October 1 certified to Santo DiGangi, YLD president, the number of YLD members of The Florida Bar in good standing in each of Florida’s 20 judicial circuits and outside the state of Florida, and the number of circuit representatives based on the apportionment formula set forth in Art. V, Section 5 of the YLD bylaws.

Members of the Young Lawyers Division may be nominated for the board from the circuits indicated by their official Bar address if they will not have reached the age of 36 before July 1 or, if age 36 or older by such date, will not have been admitted to practice in any jurisdiction for more than 5 years. To be nominated, a member must submit a nominating petition signed by no fewer than five members of the Young Lawyers Division in good standing in that circuit. Nominations must specify the seat number that is being sought. Nominees shall endorse their written acceptance on such petitions, but no nominees shall accept a nomination for more than one seat. Should you decide to change seats, you must submit another nomination form prior to 5 p.m. on December 16. On a date to be fixed by the president-elect, the nominating petitions shall be canvassed and tabulated by the executive director and he shall thereupon certify in writing the names of all members who have been properly nominated.

Ballots will be mailed to young lawyers in all contested circuits on or before March 1. Voted ballots must be received prior to midnight EST, March 23.
Elected board members will take office at the 2020 Florida Bar Annual Meeting in Orlando and will serve a two-year term. The YLD board meets approximately six times a year and attendance at the meetings is mandatory. Potential candidates should be aware that all travel and accommodation expenses to attend the meetings are the responsibility of the board member (nominal reimbursement is available).

The YLD Board of Governors has general management and control of the affairs of the division. The board assists and cooperates with the officers and committees of The Florida Bar. Service on the board carries with it the responsibility of speaking on behalf of the members of the Young Lawyers Division.

Only the circuits indicated are up for election. Present Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors members whose terms will expire on June 19, and whose seats are the subject of the elections discussed above include:

*Benjamin Gibson, Second Circuit, Seat 1

G.C. Murray, Second Circuit, Seat 2

Ashlea Edwards, Fourth Circuit, Seat 1

*Robert Wohn III, Fourth Circuit, Seat 2

Dane Heptner, Sixth Circuit, Seat 1

*Paul Silvestri, Sixth Circuit, Seat 2

Ryan Gilbert, Eighth Circuit, Seat 1

Nicholas Zebrzeznj, 10th Circuit, Seat 1

Jesse Butler, 12th Circuit, Seat 1

Jodi Ruberg, 12th Circuit, Seat 2

Kevin Barr, 14th Circuit, Seat 1

Richard McChesney, 16th Circuit, Seat 1

Jay Thakkar, 18th Circuit, Seat 1

*Michael A. Sasso, 18th Circuit, Seat 2

Kayla Richmond, 20th Circuit, Seat 1

Joseph Coleman, 20th Circuit, Seat 2

Cullan Jones, Out-of-State 1

Brandon Wolff, Out-of-State, Seat 2

*Eric Everson, Out-of-State, Seat 3

*Does not intend to seek re-election

Nominating petitions may also be downloaded from and must be completed and returned by December 16 to: Executive Director, c/o Tom Miller, The Florida Bar, 651 E. Jefferson St., Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300.

News in Photos


The Mindful Lawyer: Mindfulness and Anxiety — A Process of Elimination

Columns | May 09, 2024

Be A Referring Lawyer

Columns | May 03, 2024

Be a Listening Lawyer

Columns | Apr 04, 2024

A mindful look at pain and suffering

Columns | Mar 14, 2024