The Florida Bar


August 28, 2020

One Florida Supreme Court justice and 24 appellate judges will be on the merit retention ballot Nov. 3 when voters go to the polls in the general election, and in-state members of The Florida Bar have been asked their opinions of those jurists.

Ballots for The Florida Bar’s merit retention poll were sent to in-state members in good standing on Aug. 17 and are due back by Tuesday, September 8. Members can complete the confidential poll online or return the paper version of the poll by mail. Instructions for voting online accompanied the ballots. The deadline for online voting is 11:59 p.m. EDT, September 8. The paper ballots also must be received no later than September 8. A copy of the letter sent to members and a link to the poll itself are on the Bar’s website.

Every two years, Florida’s voters are asked whether Supreme Court justices and the District Courts of Appeal judges up for retention votes deserve another six-year term, and the Bar’s merit retention poll assists the public with the process.  The Florida Bar has polled members since 1978.

Poll results are intended to reflect the opinion of Bar members concerning each judge’s qualifications and work and will be made public via a Bar news release without editorial comment. The justice and judges on the 2020 merit retention ballot are:

Supreme Court Justice Carlos G. Muñiz

1st District Court of Appeal Judges Joseph Lewis, Jr., Scott Makar, Rachel Nordby, Tim Osterhaus, Clay Roberts and Adam S. Tanenbaum

2nd District Court of Appeal Judges: Drew Atkinson, Morris Silberman, Daniel H. Sleet and Andrea Teves Smith

3rd District Court of Appeal Judges: Monica Gordo, Eric William Hendon, Fleur Jeannine Lobree, Thomas Logue and Bronwyn Catherine Miller

4th District Court of Appeal Judges: Alan O. Forst, Mark W. Klingensmith and Martha C. Warner

5th District Court of Appeal Judges: Kerry I. Evander, Jamie Grosshans, John M. Harris, Richard B. Orfinger, Meredith Sasso and F. Rand Wallis

Questions: Contact Leslie Smith at [email protected] or 850-694-2875.